New Page 1




Reviews Views Date of last review
9 26517 Fri April 26, 2013
Recommended By Ave price per week Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.5
car1.jpg

car4.jpg car5.jpg car6.jpg

Description: Hotel Riu Caribe
Blvd. Kukulcan, Km 5.5, Lote 6-C, Zona Hotelera
77500 Cancun
Quintana Roo - Mexico
Tel. +529988487850 Fax. +52 998 848 7851
E-Mail: hotel.caribe@riu.com




Location/General information

The impressive Riu Caribe, with its Mayan-style architecture overlooking the crystal-blue waters of the Mexican Caribbean, is the perfect site for a fantastic holidays.
Riu Caribe features 506 luxurious oceanview guestrooms with unique Riu amenities such as a mini-bar and liquor dispenser. There is a wide array of restaurants, bars and facilities to enjoy, including 24-hour All Inclusive (snacks and beverages), as well as a fun and relaxing atmosphere created by the large swimming pool and spectacular beach.
This warm and charming resort ensures memorable holidays to suit all tastes!



* Located in Cancun’s resort area
* 9-storey building
* On the beachfront
* Complimentary sun loungers on the beach

* 3 km. /1.9 miles from a shopping center
* 4,5 km/2.5 miles from downtown Cancun
* 21 km/13.1 miles to Cancun Int’l. Airport
* Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa



More Riu Caribe Information






yukariah
Riu Bambuer Benefactor

Registered: July 2006
Posts: 42
Review Date: Thu July 13, 2006 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Loction
Cons:

I visited the Caribbe in Feb of 06. And had a wonderful time. It was my first time at a RIU resort and it sold me on them. From the start at the reception desk we felt very welcome. We went straight up to the room which smelled wonderful. That seems like a strange thing to say but I had heard or rather read on some travel review site that most rooms smelled musty.
The view from our room was wonderful as I think all the rooms face the ocean. Outside the entrance door faced the bay side of Cancun where you could view the most incredible sunsets. We enjoyed them and took lots of photo's as did just about everyone who stayed there. It was like a ritual, people lining the halls that were open to the air, worrys melting away as we watched the sun melted into the earth.
The food was fabulous.. We tried the resturants but prefered the buffet. I was so impressed by what was offered. Smoked Salmon and Caviar, prime rib, leg of lamb. It was like that every night. The breakfast and lunch meals were just as impressive.
I do believe I gained weight that week! I am now in the gym trying to work it off before I get to RIU Playacar in Playa del Carmen.
Evening entertainment by the staff was a lot of fun as was the couple that sang in the lobby lounge/bar in the evenings. The wait staff and bartenders were friendly and eager to please and got good tips from us.
Trip vendors are in the lobby ready to hook you up with any adventure you might expect in the Yucatan and were very helpful. Don't miss Xceret and stay for the show at the end..fantastic!!
Cab service was good from the hotel. The driver we had stayed with us all day as things were a little dicey at that time due to hurricane Wilma's wrath. There were only 12 hotels open at that time so employment was at a low point.
Vendors from town came to the hotel and set up in the huge lobby so you didn't ever have to leave to shop. The prices weren't to bad either.
I understand that much progress has been made and most hotels/resorts are now open as are most of the night clubs and resturants.
The beach was wonderful and had plenty of loungers avaiable. The sand was clean and the staff were out at sunrise raking up any sea grass that may have made it to shore during the night. And the sunrises were just a beautiful as the sunsets.
After staying at many other hotels in Mexico I would reccomend this hotel as the finest I have stayed at yet. I can't wait to experiance other RIU resorts and see if they can live up to the standard I feel this resort set.

 
allenkb

Registered: May 2006
Posts: 56
Review Date: Thu July 20, 2006 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: The Pool and Beach
Cons: I didn't get the service I deserved for my room,both with housekeeping and mini bar

This hotel is very beautiful. I loved the open lobby and halls. Feeling the carribbean breeze as you walk through the hotel is wonderful.


Food
I thought the food was good. The buffet is great if you are in a hurry and want a big selection.


We ate at Maria Margarita's twice. Loved that one the best. The steaks were juicy and tender. The first time our waiter was terrible. He didn't check on us and after waiting forever for our plates to be taken and for dessert we just left. Now the second time was completely opposite. Our waiter was fantastic and we really enjoyed ourselves. Luck of the draw.


Rooms
Very interesting. We traveled with another person who had a separate room. Here is the luck of the draw again. In 5 days our room was cleaned ONE time. No towel art or anything. Our friends room was cleaned every day and he had towel art. Our fridge was stocked ONE time during the visit and our friends was stocked twice. I guess it's like anywhere you go, depends on who is taking care of your floor.


Pool
Immaculate. Beautiful. Lovely.


Ocean
Stunning. I will never forget the varying blues and clear water. We snorkled, para-sailed and rode jet ski's.


Bar service
I think the servers do try. There were so many people wanting to get drinks and only about two servers a time that it was hard for them to get to everyone. They needed more servers. Had to wait a long time for drinks. I asked for bottled water once and they told me no.


Extra trips
We did the Captain Hook Dinner Cruise. It was a lot of fun. If you tend to have motion sickness, take a dramamine before you go.


I took calling cards to call home with. The hotel does not have pay phones. You have to go out on the road and use a payphone. I tried three and none of them would let me use my calling card. It was frustrating. I asked the hotel if I could use it there and they would charge $6 each time I used it. So I tried to just call home from the hotel as it would be cheaper. Finally after several tries with the hotel operator they realized they needed to unlock my phone. Then it worked.


The hotel was nice but I will try a different Riu next time I go. And I will go again because Cancun itself was just paradise.

 
Jake48

Registered: July 2006
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sat August 5, 2006 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: beautiful hotel, pool area is great. Staff was super
Cons:

We visited the Caribe in March '06. We had a great time. The staff was just wonderful. Friendly and helpful. The food was good and so were the drinks. We loved our room, truly a beautiful view. Would visit again if there just weren't so many other places to go. Only negative was that the hotel is a little noisey but what the heck...it was during spring break it is supposed to be a party and it was. Thanks to the great staff at the Caribe for making our visit very special

 
keith5919
Riu Ambassador

Registered: September 2005
Posts: 2236
Review Date: Sun November 19, 2006 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Service
Cons: Can't walk the beach for any distance

Us: Couple in our 50s. Have been to the following Rius: Playacar, Palace Mexico, Palace Macao, Taino, Bambu, Merengue, Bachata.


Flights, Airports, Buses: Travelled via Funjet Vacations out of Detroit 11-10-06 through 11-17-06. Got to Metro Airport on the 10th at 5:20 for our 8:00 a.m. flight. Delay checking in due to computer problems. Finally got to gate about 6:30. Flight was over an hour late leaving due to maintenance problems. Funjet used Ryan Int'l Airlines for these flights. Only thing free was pop, juice, water or coffee. Snack pack was $5.00 as were the earphones. Luckily we got exit rows seats both ways - lots of legroom.


On our way back, we were picked up last and in 30 minutes we were at the airport and surprisingly we were taken to the reopened other terminal (I don't know which is Terminal 1 and which is Terminal 2). Check-in was a breeze and took all of five minutes. Our flight arrived back in Detroit about 10 minutes early.


Arrived in Cancun at the one terminal open at the time. No problem at immigrations. Found our luggage and then faced very long lines exiting the terminal. Got the green light and then found our bus. Our bus was full and we dropped people off at the Tucancun, Gran Caribe Real and the Riu Cancun before going on to the Riu Caribe. We were the last stop and there were eight of us going to the Riu Caribe.


Funjet had us all gather in the lobby bar and after their spiel one of the Riu front desk guys gave us our wristbands and had us fill out our paperwork and then told us to come back about 2:45 for our room assignments (it was now about 1:45). We went to lunch and then went to the front desk. I had written ahead requesting a room on the upper floors with a good view and that's what we got.


Room: We got Room 545, which is in the middle of the hotel, near the elevators with a great view and a HUGE balcony. Our balcony had two chairs, a table and two beach lounge chairs. Other than that I thought the room was pretty basic. Nice marble floors in the room and bathroom. Very deep tub with a large marble surround. They had a small wooden stool placed next to the tub (quite necessary).


Beach: Very nice beach with great views of the Isle of the Women. There was a lot of coral at either end of the hotel's beach. We did walk past the coral in both directions, but it was difficult. We went down every morning about 7:00 and got a palapa in front of the pizzeria. This part of the beach also had waiter service (don't know about the other parts of the beach). Bathrooms were also nearby at the theater, which is next to the pizzeria. The pizzeria also had a bar.


Pool: Spent no time here except for our last day when we had terrible weather and it was too windy to sit on the beach. Lots of places to sit and many shady areas.


Bars: We were very surprised to see the top shelf alcohol at all the bars. We used the pizzeria bar during the day and then had a drink at the lobby bar before dinner each night and listened to the entertainment. Some nights the entertainment arrived at 5:00 p.m. and others not till 7:00. The bar has many tables and chairs and we always found a place to sit and the waiter service was very good and very, very timely even without tipping.


Restaurants: We ate one night at the Mexican which has waiter service and the food was very good. One night we ate at the Asian buffet, which was also very good. The other five nights we ate at the Albatros Buffet. Most nights we were offered champagne upon entering the buffet. The buffet served lots of seafood including crab one evening. The waitstaff again was very attentive. We also ate here each morning for breakfast and the waitstaff was very good and we found everyone speaking some English at this hotel. We had the maintenance guy fix our door one morning and he spoke excellent English. I did not have to wear long pants to any of the restaurants. Men can wear shorts, but must have sleeved shirts. In the buffet I even saw men in bathing suits at night.


Other: We walked to the Riu Cancun one day and had lunch. It has a beautiful, air-conditioned lobby and lobby bar, but other than that I liked the Riu Caribe better. It was quite a long walk, but it was very cloudy that day and is quite doable. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would return, but probably won't because I'd rather go to the Riviera Maya than Cancun.

 
Alderman

Registered: October 2006
Posts: 15
Review Date: Thu January 11, 2007 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Amazing
Cons:

I stayed at the Rui Caribe in November 2006 and I had the holiday of a life time!! everything was perfect!! apart from the weather it was a little windy and rained alot but that didnt even put a dampner on the holiday because the entertainment team at the hotel were around to keep you entertained 24/7!!!
The staff were superb, polite and friendly! no matter what time of the day or night they were there with smiles on their faces.


The rooms were so clean and tidy the maid changes out sheets and towels everyday and the fridge was topped up every other day!


Food in any of the restaurants was fantastic you cannot fault any of it!! and if you didnt manage to book into any of them, we just showed up and they squeezed us in!


The hotel entertainment team arrange to take people who want to take part to a different club each night in Cancun and it works out alot cheaper to do it with them. You get your travel to the club, vip treatment and all inclusive drinks its great!!


I could talk about this hotel forever it was simply the best!!!! i would not hesitate in telling anyone to go there because i know that you would have the holiday of a lifetime!!


P.s I loved it so much im going back in April!! he he

 
Rond

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 10
Review Date: Thu June 21, 2007 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great atmosphere to enjoy our time in Mexico
Cons:

This was my fieances and my first trip together outside of Canada in January 2005
We enjoyed the beach pool and open atmosphere of the hotel. We even took in some shows by the Animation teams . In a word spectacular. We very much enjoyed our trips into Cancun and our visit to the inland Myan ruins. The best part was our motor boat trip out to do some snorkaling. We met some awsome peple of Mexico here and were treated like royalty. We very much enjoyed the aspect of no pressure time share people on the resort. God they can be pests.

 
ala-kat

Registered: June 2007
Posts: 17
Review Date: Sun October 21, 2007 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: everything
Cons: not real fond of the food, but that's just me

This was one amazing trip.


It was our second annual “girls’ trip”. We did a cruise last year and had another one planned for this year…until this was won on a radio station contest. The cruise had been planned on the cheap. With the three of us, we took what we had allocated for this (no flying involved) to apply for the third person. This worked out very well.


Gogo travel took care of everything. The trip included air travel (and not from a major airport), transportation to & from the airport and a four night stay, not to mention a tour to Chichen Itza. The third was added, with all the above mentioned, for less than we were going to pay for our cruise.


We went from Alabama to Houston to Cancun. I was concerned about the very little time in Houston to make connections, going & coming. Amazingly, with less than an hour both times, we had no problems what-so-ever.


We were met in Cancun by Olympus tours to take us to the hotel. We were IN THE ROOM, in just over an hour after landing. Fantastic!! We were met with some kind of apple drink (with wine?) that was very good. Stopped at the bar for our first drink and to meet our bartenders – Jesus, Vincente & Alberto.


Loved the room. We were in room 406, not a junior suite, but right next to one. It overlooked the theater and the view was beautiful. Looking at the hotel from the front, it was on the far right. The beds are a little hard, but other than that, the room was very comfortable. Drink enough and you won’t be bothered by the beds!!


Unpacked and changed clothes. Mixed our first drink from the bar set-up, & headed to the pool & beach (and bar, but don’t think I really need to say that!). Both were great. This place looks exactly as you see in the pictures. Just beautiful. Had lunch & dinner at the buffet. This was really the only down side for me as the food was plentiful, it’s just not what I’m used to. Didn’t starve though.


Next day was Chichen Itza. Now that was an adventure, and it was OUR adventure. Never follow the blonde. We were headed in the right direction to meet the excursion bus, and before I knew it, my friend had crossed the street and hopped a bus going in the other direction. What are you going to do? We followed and ended up in downtown, looking for a bus to take us back the way we came. Not sure what to do, we finally hailed a cab. We were just going to go back to the resort, but Alex tuned into our situation and rose to the occasion. This was one heck of a cab ride!! He got us to where we were supposed to meet the bus, but it had already left. He called Olympus, let them know we were there, and proceeded to take us to a stopped on the side of road bus. A huge thank you to Alex!!


Chichen Itza was worth the trip. This is one amazing trip and words really cannot describe it. It is an all day thing, but the guys made it very memorable. They were very informative and gave the info in both English & Spanish. I would go again, given the opportunity, and see more of the off-beat areas. There is just too much to see in the short amount of time you are there. We stopped at a Mayan restaurant on the way back. Had a great lunch with entertainment. Stopped at a ceynote that we could swim in. This was just another ‘wow’. The whole trip was a ‘wow’ in our minds. On the trip back, they had beer for you. This was a beer I’d never heard of, and I believe they said it was made special & currently being only served on tours. Very good beer. Careful that you don’t have too many lest you have to use the ‘box’. Did not want to go there. If memory serves me, we just came back, ate, drank & partied, and went to bed.


We didn’t leave the resort the next day. Hung around the beach & pool. Had our pictures taken with ‘Ricky Martin’, the monkey. We did the ‘see no evil, speak no evil, hear no evil’ picture with Ricky on my friends head. Tried the pizza and it was good. My friend did the scuba lesson and really enjoyed it. Went to the steak house that night and had a good meal. Drank way too much. ‘Nuf said.


Someone drank way too much the day before so plans were changed, and changed again to accommodate. No problemo. Stayed around the resort and had our pictures made with some very colorful & sweet birds. Hit the beach & pool again. Once the offender was feeling a little better, my friends did the parasailing. Got some fantastic pictures of them. A note here, well ok, two. 1) A person can go along on the boat at no charge to take pictures of those sailing. We did not know about this until after the fact. 2) If at all possible, be the last trip out (they close at 4). My friends got, what appeared to me, twice the air time as the ones before them. This really helped my friend who wasn’t feeling well. Didn’t think she could do it, but once done, she felt much better and had a great memory.


We went out that night. Caught the bus to the flea market. One tip on the bus. The bus stop is just outside the resort, BUT, if you are going to the zone, don’t go left out of the hotel (it just seemed natural to us). Go right and cross the street. The bus stop is there. If you do what we did, you’ll end up walking awhile to the next bus stop.


After the flea market, we ended up across the street at El Sombrero for a beer. Haha. ‘A beer’ is not in our vocabulary. Had a great time here, and meet some great people. Liliana (the waitress) was wonderful. She made us very comfortable and looked out for us. Many hours later, we caught the bus back. At this point we were very sad as this was our last full day. Darn!!!


These were just some of the highlights of our trip. There were many more. The property and the staff were outstanding. I would not hesitate to go here again. We weren’t given a choice in where we stayed, and could not have picked better on our own. I am now SO hooked on RIU, as are my friends.


Thanks to those who helped us make the most of this trip!!

 
pinklestick
Senior Riu Ambassador

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 1599
Review Date: Thu November 15, 2007 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything!!
Cons:

Well, what can I say that I haven't said many, many times before. LOL


This hotel is not as big as her sisters - the riu Cancun and the Riu Palace, it's less modern as well. Those are two of the reasons that we return there. The atmosphere is different, there's a comfortable, at-home feeling as you wander around the resort and nothing is very far away (the beach, the towel hut and of course the bar Smile


The pool is huge and I like the way it is sectioned off by bridges. The kiddie pool is at one end, then the quieter pool, after that is the action pool where all the fun takes place, then a section for water basketball. I love hearing the laughter and music surrounding the pool. The beach is wonderful, the water warm. We sometimes go there as the sun lasts longer , if we're into tanning that day, that is. When we wake up at the crack of dawn, our first thought of the day is to go out onto the balcony and look out over the water. Already, there are people out raking up the seaweed and carting it away - they also rake the beach.


Albatros Restaurant: Our favourite as that is where Victor and Julio are. Their breakfasts can't be beat, Antonio made my omelette every morning and taught me how to ask for the ingredients in Spanish (once I had mastered that, he presented me with a huge balloon flower he had made, complete with stem and petals!)


Lunch could be at the Albatros, the pool restaurant or the Pizza Place - depending on our mood. The food in all three was great.


Specialty Restaurants: We had only tried these before the hurricane so can only speak about that. There is an Asian Restaurant now, we didn't try that last year. We enjoyed our meal at the Mexican Restaurant and would certainly go back again. As for the Steakhouse Restaurant and the Asian, they were new after the hurricane so we haven't had the opportunity to try them.


Our room was cleaned every day, in fact one day we forgot something and came back to the room to find the young girl looking after our room with the bed pulled completely out and she was dusting under there (I don't even do this every day at home Smile


Our fridge was stocked every day, probably because Mr. Pink had a great chat to the fellow the first day and they looked forward to these times each day. Our balcony became another room to us - we were there first thing in the morning and last thing at night. We loved to look out over the water and hear the waves lapping at the shore. (he has a very nice voice, so I was even treated to a serenade one evening Smile


The people who work at the Caribe, as I'm sure in other places as well, work very hard for what we would consider not very much. We put money aside before we leave home, a certain amount figured out, so that we tip while we are there - the lady cleaning the room, our waiters, bartenders, etc. The service is beyond what you would expect anywhere and always with a smile. Everyone seems to really enjoy their work and make you feel as though in order for them to feel good, they have to make sure you're having the time of your life!! We will return here as often as we can, not only because we love the hotel and feel totally at home, but for us we have friends who are family to us. This way, we get to see them every day of our vacation, as well as those times that they take us into their homes to make us a part of their lives. There are many hotels that you can stay in, but precious few where you feel that you are coming home. Caribe does that for us.


So, if any of you are heading to the Riu Caribe any time soon, you would be doing yourself a favour if you ask for Victor in the Albatros Restaurant - waiter extrodinaire and an "hola" to Julio will bring a smile that lights up his whole face. Also a kind word to soft-spoken Patty at the front desk, her smile will blind you - she is one in a million!


Please feel free to email any questions you might have - will be more than happy to answer them.

 
Trish
Senior Riu Ambassador

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 6032
Review Date: Fri April 26, 2013 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Riu Caribe, girls getaway April 16-23/13
Cons:

The Caribe is really a nice place, the refurbishments only enhance a building that already had good bones.

The colours they have used really compliment the style of that hotel, they marry well together.

The manager Nicholas is wonderful and because he was not there when we arrived the next day he came directly to our room to welcome me personally.

.
The lobby is quite beautiful and open it has a couple of fans but when standing at the desk it gets really warm, they need more fans strategically placed high up to circulate the air.
The marble, tile, I am not sure if it is marble or some other ornate stone but it is original and very beautiful again it fits right in with the decor. The stone tiles on the walls I love.
There are lots of elevators and virtually no wait time the only thing is they should have fans in them it gets hot in them especially when you get 5 or 6 people in them.

The lobby bar is really busy and there is another bar down a few steps sort of where that old bar use to be. At the end is a stage and they have regular performers, singing, instrumental etc. Kind of like a small night club. The BEST was the Elvis impersonator (they had him at the stage next to the lobby) that actually sings, he has back up Vegas type girls and it was so awesome. There is plenty of seating for everyone and it poured out into the actual lobby.
At the Theatre there was a performance of Grease it was really really good. I have seen that show every time I am at a Riu I am a fan since the movie came out, but never seen anything this good,this was a troup from outside and the dancing was excellent I almost forgot they were not actually singing.

The animation team works very hard around the hotel and pool they work their butts off personally I think they could use a few more just because the hotel is so big and there are so many people that "LIKE THE ATTENTION" so it seems

The theatre is big and dark with a huge bar and again drink service a little slow they could use an extra couple of waiters if they want to keep up the bar service (this was a bonus)

The buffet itself is all black, grey and silver, so nice. Lots of food to choose from I asked for beets and they went and cooked them for the next day and put a plate full on our table. There were beets everyday after. The desserts seem to be the same as other hotels. They did have coconut ice cream and one I had not had before was the maple walnut but it was kind of a pink colour very tasty.

We had roast beef, roast pork, leg of lamb, even had a roast pork carved for lunch, beef Wellington of course fish. Chicken prepared in numberous ways all of it delicious. No complaints they offered a good variety of everything and the salad bar was always plentiful. The food was good to excellent. The nicest decor was the Mexican Restaurant (because it was all very Mexican) I could have stayed there for hours and it's HUGE.The steak house is the usual and we like it. The baked Alaska was NOT freezer burned!! It was really good. The Asian was as good as well, the same as the Playacar and Tequila.
We had the same waiter everyday for breakfast and lunch his name is Antonio and he came from the Riu Cancun with Nicholas 4 years ago. The assistant manager is quiet I never had a chance to talk to him.

Booking for Specialty restaurants was not a big deal the first day I went down to breakfast I stopped a the podium set up for this booking and there was on person in front of me I was able to book for the next day and the day after. I went back to book third two day later and no one waiting and I was able to book our last dinner. No shows were cronic at all three restaurants, not nice.

Drink SERVICE is everywhere, as soon as I sat down in the main lobby I had a waitress there wanting to get me a drink same as the adjacent bar/lounge area. Drink SERVICE available at the pools and the beach, and at the quiet pool the bar is right there along with tables and chairs and they make the personal pizzas there. I did not expect the drink service that was a nice surprise needless to say I went through a lot of "ones" lol. It was just so convenient.

Our room was on the ninth floor corner the views are to die for it had a huge wrap around balcony. We could see the front street, condos beside us and a panoramic view of the sea. We had two double beds and a cot was brought in. The mattresses were comfortable, there was a night stand between the beds, a dresser with 4 drawers and table with two chairs. The closet was what I call a normal double closet. We could have used a couple more drawers but we managed just fine.

The bathroom is large with a shower area that has a glass block at one end and a see through door, on the side that is next to the bed is a long opaque glass window from ceiling to floor about 20 inches wide, you can see movement in the bathroom area. If you get up in the night and turn the bathroom light on it lights up the whole room (which is already stark white) waking everyone up. The room had two double beds and we got a cot brought in. The bureau has 4 drawers, there is a small table and two chairs. One night table between the two beds. The closet is equivalent to our closets at home about 6 feet wide.


The grounds are impecible, lush and beautiful pathways, the pools are large and for the most part easy to get in and out of the "seniors" pool as I call it on the side closest to the Peninsula has to entrances and exits with stairs and a rail like at the Palace.

Yes the towel game was rampant but we never had a problem by the pools or the beach. We were up early every day and we were always happy with our chair location.

I would recommend this Riu Caribe to everyone as long a walking and stairs don't bother you there was never more than 4 stairs at a time except around the pools. Walking from our elevator we approach a few stairs, then we walk past the lobby to the buffet we do up a few stairs down a few stairs and up a few stairs, heck it helped burn off some of the calories. It is big and the decor is fabulous. I would like to go back but the Riu Palace Mexico is next and I am hoping for the Riu Playacar in October perhaps next year.

As an added note our fan in the room made a stupid noise and we kept saying when we go downstairs we should report it and maybe someone could fix it. We must have been having a very blissful, wonderful, worry free vacation because every evening when got back to the room we said "we forgot to ask for the fan to be fixed" no worries when we went to bed we shut it off. The room was always cool, not cold very comfortable.

As a second added note, small problems can happen instead of going around complaining to other guests or anyone that will listen go to the desk and talk to them if it cannot be resolved by them in a short period of time then go to the Director or Sub director. We met one lady that said she had no shower soap in the shower, these units are attached and refilled daily there is also bar soap. She was very agitated and said she had to go to the store and buy her own. I am still scratching my head on that one. If the dispenser was broken or had been pulled off the wall they would have given her a whole big refill bottle. ??? When staying at a Riu THIS IS NOT AN ISSUE. It could have been resolved with ONE CALL TO THE DESK.

 


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2003 All Enthusiast, Inc.

New Page 1




Locations of visitors to this page

Riu Quoting System
FULL SCREEN BOOKING

(CLICK HERE)

Our New Affiliate Bookings


<