New Page 1




Reviews Views Date of last review
4 6733 Sun December 30, 2012
Recommended By Ave price per week Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 8.8
EmeraldBay.jpg
supersize


Description: The 5-star, 716-room Riu Emerald Bay, which will be built by the firm itself, is slated to open in May 2009. This all-inclusive hotel will offer an assorted variety of culinary choices at its main restaurant, which features a buffet and live cooking, and its Mexican, Italian and steakhouse restaurants.
A wide array of water sports and activities such as diving, kayaking, sailing and windsurfing will also be available at the new resort, which boasts tennis courts and beach volleyball as well. A number of bars and different entertainment programmes, in addition to a fully-equipped gymnasium and spa, complete the offer.
The Riu Emerald Bay’s state-of-the-art facilities will also cater to the business meeting sector. The hotel will have four modern conference halls: the largest will measure 240 square metres and seat up to 108 people, while the second and third will each measure 120 square metres and seat 48. All the rooms will have sliding panels and can be opened up into one large, 480-square metre room.


* Opening summer 2009
* 12 km / 7.45 miles from Mazatlán, overlooking the Pacific Ocean
* Located on Playa Las Brujas beach
* Complimentary sun loungers on the beach
* 20-storey main building
* Surrounded by 13.500 m2 / 16.15 sq. yards of lush gardens
* 10 km / 6.2 miles from various shops
* 12 km / 7.45 miles from Mazatlán
* 32 km / 19.87 miles from the airport
* Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa


rescueranger
Official Riu Bambuer

Registered: August 2006
Posts: 46
Review Date: Wed July 1, 2009 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: all rooms are oceanview; long and expansiive beach
Cons: swim-up pool is crowded and noisy, no adults-only pool

Enjoyed 1 week at the new Riu Emerald Bay from 21-28 June 2009. These are my observations of the resort:
1. It is one big hotel. It can be seen from miles away. It is a very impressive structure.
2. The beach is wide and very long for walks. The sand is fantastic to stroll on though it got very hot when the temperature rose above 35C. There were no jellyfish in the water or on the beach. The red flag was up for the whole week due to an undertow but there were many people in the sea enjoying the breaking waves.
3. All the rooms face the ocean so they all have a great view. It is a typical non-Palace room. Our room had a king bed but some have two beds pushed together. Our room was cleaned daily by a very dedicated young woman and the bar was replenished every second day.
4. There are two banks of three elevators on either side of the main buffet restaurant. One bank was being serviced one day so you either walked up/down or used the second bank.
5. The hotel was only 40-60% full so it was not crowded at all most of the week. However on the weekends the hotel was inundated with large families with lots of little kids so the pool area was noisy and crowded.
6. The main restaurant (open from 7:00 to 10:30 and 18:30 to 22:30) had one wing closed due to lack of guests but was opened when the families showed up. The food was good and plentiful. The only instant coffee is de-caf otherwise it's real coffee. (tripadvisor comment.) There are three specialty restaurants but only two are open each night, again due to lack of enough guests to open all three.
7. The lobby bar was also not open for drinks but the sport bar was open all day with snacks, games, and the internet computers.
8. The nightly shows were the typical Riu shows with a crew of 4 gals and 4 guys. It started at 9:30 and over by 10:15. They were pretty good, too.
9. Taxi to the town is 150 peso, 100p to Zona Dorado. Local bus passes just outside the hotel gate and is 6p into town.


I would recommend this resort to anyone. If you have any questions don't hesitate to ask me.

 
peterhr
Site Admin

Registered: September 2005
Posts: 14705
Review Date: Wed June 22, 2011 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

JoLee's review - June 2011


“FANTASTIC .Wow. A1”


We arrived by West Jet Air , zipped through Airport, Paid for a Taxi at the booth Outside and were off to the Resort. Cost of cab now $400.00 peso. Long drive (approx. 45mins.) so worth the cost ! Return trip will cost $380.00 peso. You get to see Lots of the area on the drive.
Riu is a wonderful (2 year old) hugh building, Gate security, then the Spa and Meeting room buildings ,then drive up to the Entrance and the WOW Lobby..Fantastic.


Wonderful Welcome.,David is a nice doorman. Desk Staff, Elizabeth and Filberto were Great!. Nice welcome Drinks plus an Early Book In.at approx. 1.40p.m. (regular book in is 3 p.m.) We were lucky as Sat. was 90 % full. WOW.


We have been to several other Riu Resorts in Mexico and the D.Republic, plus other resorts, I will say the E.Bay is one of the BEST! We enjoyed our 2 WEEKS , June 4 to June 18. and wish to Thank the Wonderful staff.


ROOM: We got the 17th.floor to the North. #1706..Called Honeymoon room.LoL. King bed. with TWO sliding doors to a Double open Deck. WOW.
Maid kept the room spotless and we enjoyed the nice towel art left on bed. Hugh closet, hugh bathroom with 2 sinks. tub with shower combo. Flat screen t.v. Full bar and fridge with beer, pop,water. plus a WELCOME gift of Fruit/cheese and bottle of bubbly for our Special Anniversary.. a WOW !! Thanks Erika and Management.


BEACH: Nice long walks in both directions. As mentioned some rough water, so be aware and swim where directed by staff.
Sunsets: were lovely.


FOOD: Great food.. Just as good as Riu Vallarta (our last trip there in Dec. 2010). We enjoyed the Mexican (Tobasco) and the Steak house (Las Gaviotas-2 times) did not go the the Asian(Bamboo).
at the Main Buffet (Las 3 Isles) for Breakfast and Dinner we had fantastic food. Fruit,.Salad,Pasta,Mexican Dessert Stations.. What's not to like? from Turkey to large shrimps to at least 10 hard Ice CREAM....to choice from.. Fantastic and Great service.
At the Lunch Buffet we were happy that it was Indoors also (therefore you don't have to fend off the birds).LoL. Great food, kids love the soft 3 types of Ice Cream.Me Too!!


All are NON smoking., but you can find seating outside in the open areas of the Buffets.
We did notice that some food seemed TOO salty at Times?? and I missed WAFFLES that the Riu Vallarta had., but the Kids must have loved the Pancakes with the candy sprinkles etc. cooked inside.
We went to the Beach BBQ,,Fantastic ribs and thin steak that an other reviewer mentioned.. I usually pass on the bbqs. but this was WELL Done.


ENTERTAINMENT: Very good Annimation Team and lots of things to do. Fernando was super Nice..a Riu Bonus..
We watched the Vegas and Tropical and Mexican Night shows. MamaMia ,so,so. Forget Grease it's ,getting old.LoL. We skipped Miss and Mr. Riu Nights and Kareoke nights.


BARS.Drinks: Great Drinks and Bar service everywhere., even the rolling carts at the Pools.
Bartenders: are all Great IMHO., Never saw an unfriendly staff at all,Period...
Try the Lobby Bar, Thanks to Gabriela and all others. Great Service!!


We Tip, but stay 2 weeks, so budget the tips accordingly. I never noticed that anyone got better service at any time, as some guest did Not tip. Do try to tip,even if Included in your pkg.


POOLS: 2 hugh plus another with swim up Bar. and a kids pool too. The 2 large ones have nice overflows.
The security guards try to keep the kids OUT of the swim up pool, with some difficulties at times. Why do parents want to take their children to swim with the drunks? Lol.
Our ONLY Disappointment was not with the RIU but seeing/watching Two SENIOR Men,from Toronto, who NEVER left the Stools in the swim up bar all DAY long!!. I won't go into details, but NOT nice to See. I hope ,the Bleach? they put in the Pool, ate their shorts etc.. All I can say is "I though little kids were bad!! ha ha" Shower Lots, I Sure Did!!.


No trouble with the Elevators, longest wait was at most 5 minutes.
Re: the Crack in the bldg. It was being Fixed. You could tell ,that the cracks followed a design of 4 lines, Most likely water got into the lines. Concrete.duh...


We met lots of wonderful people from all over north and south America.
There are NO "Locals" guests,They are" Mexican Nationals" and come to enjoy THEIR Holiday too ,and Yes, some Grads. arrived the last few days we were there. Some got a little out of line and in trouble, but most were nice and enjoyed their Holidays, as we sure DID.


Go and Enjoy.


the Management do a Super good job with all the Services and Security at the E.Bay.
Thanks for Our Wonderful SPECIAL Trip.
We will Return.
Room Tip: Desk will change Canadian to Peso but No USD.


* Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple

 
loverofmexico

Registered: March 2012
Posts: 1
Review Date: Tue March 13, 2012 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: all rooms ocean view.....seafood restaurant end of beach fantastic!
Cons: no adult only pool/very noisy/too many kids

We stayed here in April of 2011 and I was so impressed for the most part.......the only downfalls for me were the elevators took so long to get from one floor to another.......and I just hate the fact that some people get up at 6 am to save a pool chair and then don't show up until noon to claim it......I have noticed some resorts are no longer allowing this.......first come first serve, you leave, you loose! During the day the pools were over run by children........the food was typical resort food.......the service was 5 star all the way........the staff at these Riu's work so hard........it was probably the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed at!

 
JoLee
Official Riu Bambuer

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 1907
Review Date: Sun December 30, 2012 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing

Our Thanks to Salvador and Erika and all their Wonderful Staff for making our pre Xmas 2 week holiday so Special to us. There are so many happy staff at the Emerald Bay that management is sure doing good job. thumbs up..to All...from Abraham who booked us in, to Manual who helped us on check out/flight..Wow.. any many many others.
We booked Direct with RIU Class, and were welcomed back with many specials, which made us feel so very Welcome. Flight with West Jet.


Room: A Master Jacuzzi on 20th floor. 2 decks, with Fantastic view and Sunsets..even included terry robes,besides all the other extras like inside and outside jacuzzi,s. wow wow.


Food: Wonderfully,,,anyone who says food is recycled is completely out of it.. We had so much good variety, from shrimps to turkey to the best bbq. ribs ever.. Bakery items fantastic..you name it, they have it. 10 flavors of ice cream.. yogurt, Vegy shakes that are unreal. The Lady who makes the omelets to order ,is the best ...she knows how to do it RIGHT.
The Steak House is now an Itallian , and really just another buffet, but still very good. We skipped the Asain., but enjoyed the Mexican. the service and dinner were great..not so much the Canadian's with there 2 babies and poor manners... Oh well.....


Drinks/Bars: What great drinks and service. From full in room fridge to the nice lobby bar., to swim up pool bar (and yes they Try to kid the kids out..but rules change some days..watched the guard play ping pong for days instead of watching the pools, a child could have drowned).
Tip a little.. we did so to even the ground gardeners. you will see more smiles. Bar service was fantastic..Fabian,Gladys,Edger and so many many others.


Entertainment: Still like the Mexican best. this time it was done on the beach..wow.. Vegas ,Caribean and Mama Mia are great. We were SO impressed with the Grease show..as not the RIU Dancers,most were the Annimatiion crew,, what a Great job they Did.....
We skip, mr. and mrs. Riu nights..too roudy..lol


Spa: Massage,to DIE for...... these ladies are registered, unlike other beach tent deals., and the 2 hot tubs are nice.


Security: one previous review mentions No security on beach.... this is NOT true. There is lots of Security at nights, we watched from deck, and could see them... plus the motion sensor lights going on and off . plus in day we say some people being asked to show their Wrist bands to prove they belong . We felt very safe at all times..


We truly Enjoyed meeting lots of wonderful people from Mexico,USA,Canada and some other countries. even the Young Nations who had a "break the Ice" get together while we were there. They sure Had FUN...


WE will RETURN to the Riu Emerald Bay and will recommend it to all our Friends and family.


Well Done Riu !!!!

http://i47.tinypic.com/332qmom.jpg


http://i48.tinypic.com/o5dic7.jpg


http://i46.tinypic.com/23vi5nm.jpg


http://i47.tinypic.com/24vjmgx.jpg


http://i49.tinypic.com/2h37lsx.jpg


http://i47.tinypic.com/5f3xwk.jpg


(I have posted the same review and pictures on Tripadvisor)

 


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2003 All Enthusiast, Inc.

New Page 1




Locations of visitors to this page

Riu Quoting System
FULL SCREEN BOOKING

(CLICK HERE)

Our New Affiliate Bookings


<