New Page 1




Reviews Views Date of last review
4 9215 Thu July 3, 2008
Recommended By Ave price per week Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 7.5
paradise1.jpg

paradise4.jpg paradise5.jpg paradise6.jpg

Description: Hotel Riu Paradise Island
6307 Casino Drive Paradise Island
Paradise Island
Bahamas
Tel. +12423633500 Fax. +1 242 363 3900
E-Mail: hotel.paradiseisland@riu.com




Location/General information

Situated on a 3-mile-long, white sandy beach, Riu Paradise Island has a prime location next to the Atlantis Casino.
Relax in elegantly decorated rooms with stunning sea views and enjoy fine amenities such as fully-stocked mini bars and liquor dispensers. Choose from a succulent selection of dining options and take part in a wide array of daily leisure activities, including a relaxing spa, and the excitement of casino life nearby!
Riu Paradise Island offers the ultimate All Inclusive experience in the Bahamas.



* Located on Paradise Island (the Bahamas), 3 km/1.8 miles from Nassau
* 100 m/328 ft from "Atlantis", the largest casino in the Caribbean
* 14-storey building
* On the beachfront

* Complimentary sun loungers on the beach
* 3 km/1.8 miles to downtown Nassau
* 200 m/656 ft from a shopping centre
* 25 km/15.5 miles from the airport
* 200 m/656 ft from a bus stop
* Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners



More Riu Paradise Island Information






betz589

Registered: August 2006
Posts: 0
Review Date: Sat September 9, 2006 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Friendly Staff, Great Food, Great Atmosphere
Cons: Rooms need updating

My wife and I stayed at the RIU Paradise Island in August of 2006. The staff was very friendly and courteous, the food was great with a wide varity and selection just about anytime you wanted something, and the atmosphere at and around the hotel was more than you could ask for in the Bahamas. The lobby was very elogant and the front desk personell was friendly and helpful. The pool and beach was excellent and clean everytime we visited them. We enjoyed ourselves so much, we have decided to bring our son and daughter and their families with us next summer when we return. As you may read in other reviews, the rooms do need to be updated, but with the beautiful pool, beach, and all the sites around the hotel, you only need to stay in your room when you sleep.

 
senior bob

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 16
Review Date: Tue September 19, 2006 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Next to the Atlantis, great beach
Cons: Next to other destinations, service in general is a touch below

I flew my girlfriend there unannounced, told her we were going camping for the weekend Sept 05. And proposed to her. I was at the hotel a number of years ago before Riu purchased it, and vacationed on the island at another resort. The beach is top notch. And I believe that the Riu is a great option if you are going to paradise island to gamble. You get the AI for less then a EP at the Atlantis. A lot of New Yorkers there. The food is good with a lot of options, lots of seafood for a AI.

 
wendyisrad

Registered: April 2008
Posts: 10
Review Date: Tue June 10, 2008 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: great ocean views, beach/ocean close by, good food
Cons: small!!!!!!

I stayed here in April of 2005 for a week. The rooms were a good size and each had a nice balcony that was angled for an ocean view. There were always ample chairs by the pool and on the beach. The food was good but by the end of the week I was looking for more of a variety. The entertainment was ok. Shopping was in walking distance, and since the property is situated next to the Atlantis, it was fun to walk over there and gamble every night. Everything seemed to be in close proximity but the hotel wasn't too crowded so it didn't really matter much. If I went to Paradise Island again, I'd stay there again.

 
toodlesca
Riu Bambuer Benefactor

Registered: February 2006
Posts: 513
Review Date: Thu July 3, 2008 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: The beach and proximity to Atlantis
Cons: Needs to be updated

I'm back from Riu Paradise Island. It was a fantastic trip. Here are some of my notes.


The hotel is definitely in need of a makeover. I did not ask at reception when this was planned - wish I did but to be honest we weren't at the hotel much.


We were given a Deluxe Ocean view room! We were put in Room 1406. It had a great view of the ocean and the tail end of the island. The even numbered rooms are directly over the air handling units so it is noisy even on the 14th floor. When the patio door is closed the noise is blocked out. I love the layout of the balconies - you can't see your neighbours at all and it feels like you are the only one with a balcony.


The elevators are awful - they are slow and it seemed that at least one of them was out of commission each day and therefore making the wait times longer. We did get stuck in one for a few seconds one of the days we were there. I did hear the alarm in the elevator at least once per day. On another note if you are offered the 15th floor change rooms! The 15th floor is only serviced by one of the elevators. If you choose to take one of the others then I would suggest walk the one extra flight. Not so easy if you're hauling luggage though.


Food was OK. The price is right as well as food on the island and at Atlantis is outrageous. We were told that 85% of the food is imported and this is why it is so expensive. We had one meal at the A La Carte restaurant Sir Alexander. This meal was quite nice.


We did see the preparations for a wedding but I don't believe that this is a hotel that I would want my one day at. There is very little space set up outside for a beach wedding and I doubt that they would actually do a beach wedding here. The wedding we saw was set up on the balcony outside the main dining room. The couple had their reception dinner in the main dining room.


As for Atlantis - I'd love to stay there some day. The interior of Atlantis is free during the day but the Aquariums and the exterior pools are not. To see the aquariums it is $38 per person, the waterpark is $105 per person. If you can wait to evening then the aquariums are free. We did a timeshare presentation and received vouchers for the waterpark for free.


We tried to get into some of the shows but the lounge area is in a closed room and gets crowded quickly. It was smoky and very little air circulation so we gave up. The one night we did get there early enough it didn't quite seem the same as our other Riu's. We did see some of the entertainment at Atlantis and it is well worth the walk over to take in some of this entertainment.


The beach is probably the best thing about this resort. The water is clear and blue blue blue. Our first day in the water we noticed some type of angel fish swimming with us. On our last full day there we walked to the lagoon at the end of the point (1.5 km one way) and there were some tropical fish in the water there as well. We saw a lone stingray in the water on our last morning there. I believe at one point I also saw what may have been a barracuda. I have pictures of this from our balcony on the 14th floor. It was approximately 3 ft in length.


Overall, we will go back to Nassau but I doubt we would stay at the Riu again unless it was updated. We really loved the Atlantis and all of their facilities and would probably stay there or at the Comfort Suites across the road (you get full access to Atlantis when booking there).

 


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2003 All Enthusiast, Inc.

New Page 1




Locations of visitors to this page

Riu Quoting System
FULL SCREEN BOOKING

(CLICK HERE)

Our New Affiliate Bookings


<