New Page 1




Reviews Views Date of last review
8 24168 Mon December 8, 2008
Recommended By Ave price per week Average Rating
63% of reviewers $2,171.33 7.1
negril1.jpg

negri4.jpg negri6.jpg negri45jpg.jpg

Description: ClubHotel Riu Negril
Norman Manley Boulevard
Bloody Bay Beach
Negril Jamaica
Tel. +18769575700 Fax. +1 876 957 5020
E-Mail: clubhotel.negril@riu.com




Location/General information

The newly-opened Riu Negril features 420 deluxe guestrooms and is located on a beautiful stretch of white sandy beach just minutes away from Negril's shopping area and nightlife.
The resort offers unique in-room amenities, such as Riuís renowned mini-bar and liquor dispenser, along with a complete programme of daytime activities and nightly entertainment that is perfect for the entire family. Dine at any of the tempting buffets and the ŗ la carte specialty restaurants or enjoy a drink at one of our cosy bars.
Riu Negril is the ideal holiday choice for couples, singles and families.



* Located on Jamaicaís west coast in Negril

* Located on the beachfront
* Complimentary sun loungers on the beach
* Main building and four 2-storey annexes
* Surrounded by 45,000 m2 / 56,000 sq. yards of lush gardens

* 9 km / 5.5 miles from Negril's West End
* 7 km / 4.4 miles from a shopping centre
* 80 km / 48 miles from Montego Bay airport
* Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners



More Riu Negril Information






mrsfuzzmo
Official Riu Bambuer

Registered: September 2005
Posts: 413
Review Date: Thu July 13, 2006 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great Beach, Excellent food, Sparkling Rooms, friendly staff
Cons: Pools are small, mosquitos were bad in May, lots of kids!

We thoroughly enjoyed our first resort visit to Jamaica. We were so glad that we chose RIU Club Negril as our resort, as it is new, fresh, clean and a very nice size. The beach is great for kids and adults alike. The water is very warm, calm and clear. The sandy bottom is shallow for a long distance and give great play area, and excellent water aerobics in the sea!! The food was the best we've seen at an AI resort, but this was our first RIU! We loved the in-room liquor dispenser, but spent so little time in our room that we rarely used it. The jerk hut on the beach as well as the beach bar were as tropical as ou will get anywhere~ excellent! Our only complaint was that more times than not there were kids sitting and jumping off the bar stools in the pool bar. We got very annoyed. I don't necessarily need an adults only pool, but keep the kids away from the bar.
Bloody Bay was beautiful and had a great view of the other resorts down the way. We walked to RIU TB and then onto the end of the bay and enjoyed getting some "local" flavor. Many locals are on this beach selling their wares, wanting to braid and offering a little ganja, which if you say no thanks, they take in stride and are on their way. No Porblem Mon! We would go back to this resort again, IF we ever changed our way of traveling.....we will never go anyplace twice until we've gone everywhere we've wanted to go.

 
Jake48

Registered: July 2006
Posts: 1
Review Date: Wed August 2, 2006 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? No | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Grounds very nice, friendly helpful staff.
Cons:

This is the fourth Riu that we have visited this year and by far the most disappointing. Staff was very friendly but not very attentive. No iron or ironing board in the room. Required a $20 deposit. Started off with only two pillow cases finally ended up with none after housekeeping serviced room. Called front desk the problem was resolved, 4 damp pillow cases were delivered. Ice machine was located on the bottom of the three floors and was broken all 7 nights. Buffet dining area was never cool. Don't want to sound too negative because there were a lot of great things. But just thought the the Riu Negril was not up to the standards of our prior Riu experiences.

 
dkbschultz

Registered: July 2006
Posts: 20
Review Date: Fri August 4, 2006 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? No | Price paid per week?: $3,500.00 | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: grounds, beach
Cons: the drugs, rude Europeans, bad manager

We just returned from a week at the Negril. We had 2 families with 3 teenagers (2boys, 1 girl). We had some problems at the hotel which made the trip OK.
The arrival at the airport was on time at 1:05pm, but the wait in the very LONG and HOT customs was very very long (over an hour). They need to do something about it. Not sure if it was just the time of day. We then boarded a bus and the ride was approx 1 hr 20 min after a stop about 1/2 way.
Check in did not go as planned, after writing to say I had foor surgery and talking to the manager Alberto, I thought we would be in bldg1. When we arrived, we were put in bldgs 3 and 2 upper which was to far. After 1/2 hour, then found 2 rooms in bldg 1. That is much easier and a shorter walk to things and not at all loud as some have said.
BAD POINTS--
It rained 4 out of the 7 days we were there. Always around 1pm and sometimes only and few hours, 1 day until 6pm.
During a rain out we were taking cover, 2 males started smoking marijuana. The bar staff did nothing to stop them, just encouraged them. Now with all the kids (old and young) standing around, I decided to tell them to stop. I did seek the manager and actually spoke with all three. Much to my suprise, they said they "did not want to offend the guest". We were shocked of the answer. I told them "well you offended me, and that is ok?" I went on to say there were alot of kids around and it is Illegal to do it. They did not seem to care and I am in the process of writing to the RIU company. For this activity, if I were a family I would think twice about this property.
My second problem is with the rude Europeans at the pool bar. A older couple was sitting at the bar and my son accidentally hit them with a blow up ball. They turned around and told them to "F" off. I had it out with them. My suggestion to people like this--if you cannot handle a family resort, pay the extra and go to a couples only. Also treat people with respect and get some manners, a PLEASE, Excuse me and Thanks you do go along way.
The food was just OK. Not the best quality and as good as Playa or Punta Cana. Always something , but not always good. The jerk hut was very good and they never ran out.
The nightly entertainment was low grade, we did not stay to watch.
The beds were hard as stated in other post, but you just have to deal with that.


Positives--
The grounds were well kept very nice.
The bars were great, pool bar never had a problem getting a drink. We did tip, but if we didn't I still don't think we would have had a problem.
We tipped the maid and she was great, room always made up nice with flowers and animals.


Overall a nice resort, but due to the problems I would not go back to this RIU or Jamaica. I am not sure if I will stay at another RIU by because of the managers response to what I called MAJOR problem, but maybe a response from the main office will change my mind.
I would say a 3-4 star, but families with smaller kids, just always be aware of the illegal activities around and you should be OK

 
burringtonr

Registered: November 2005
Posts: 14
Review Date: Sun October 15, 2006 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: $2,014.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: great beach, friendly helpfull employees..lots of sunshine, and more friendly employees
Cons: Food is mediocre, it fills you up, but does not WOW!! you at all

Wife and I stayed here in June of 2006, and in Nov of 2005. Both trips were booked as an Apple Vacations 5 Apple Square Deal to Negril. Hotel grounds are lovely. Lobby is beautiful....staff, well, can we take a few home with us? Family resort ok, so, tell the little creeps to stay off the barstools, but you adults should not pee in the pool where the bar is....ok? We played at the other pool, with the little waterfall, the "activity pool." Less action than the barpool, and just as nice.
Ala Carte restaurnts,,,,well, ok, but the beef is not up to my standards, and I do like a steak done medium rare.....no more to say there.
I decided that at 50, I would finally scuba dive. I did the in pool course, and went out on the boat the next day to do the "small airplane wreck " dive. I was in the process of going down the anchor rope, and got hit with the anxiety attack.....the divemaster came back to me, tried to convince me to continue down the rope, I said no, I would be better back in the boat.......up I went, I know better than him.....sat for an hour or 2 with the boat driver....he was amazed that lakes in North America turn to ICE in the winter....he just did not comprehend that what we were floating on turns into a floor in our winters.....he decided that Wisconsin was not his kind of place to go in winter....
That night in the lobby of the RIU NEGRIL, a very nice lady that I thought was with the hotel came to me and asked me how my dive went, ......well, It didn't go I said, I freaked out. She was helping with the pool portion of the instructions, so I thought she was part of the staff. She actually was a guest, working on getting her dive master/instructor rating........I thought I would never get a chance again while there, being a chicken, but she said she would take my hand, if need be, and by god , it was needed,,,,the next day I got to take a full tank of air and use it up , down to about 40 feet below the surface......!
Divers are good people, and will go out of their way to show a novice how to do it, and make anothers experience a good one.....
That woman from the Netherlands was a great aid to me in experiencing something I never would have able to do without a helping hand. If you think you might want to do a first dive, give it a try.....I may still get certified, still not sure, as it is darn cold here in the winter.
Riu tropical bay and Negril are both very nice hotels. Not top of the line, but very nice. For a reasonable amount of money, you can have a good time, and Negril is a very nice area to visit....no cruise ships so the vendors don't get their "game faces" on when the tourists come.......if you chat with your bartenders, they will get you the local tour that you should take......don't do a hotel/travel agent tour if a local worker can get you around.
Capitalism rules the world. Everybody likes to earn a living, so when you are on vacation, help someone else earn a living!
Ja Mon! Be Irie!
rodman

 
jt-jt

Registered: January 2006
Posts: 12
Review Date: Sat October 28, 2006 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? No | Price paid per week?: $1,000.00 | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: food, pool, grounds, drinks
Cons: lay out of roooms, employees, manager and cock roaches

Oct 2 to 9 .This was our 9th Riu resort and we E mailed them ahead of time and let them know we were coming and that this was our 9th Riu, when we finally found our room it was way the hell on the other side of the property. The way the resort is laid out all the rooms are at the far side of the resort and all the immenities are at the other. I went to the front desk and told them they could do better for a Riu Class member, the resort was only 35 - 40% full so they moved us to a bottom floor ocean front room, sound nice right WRONG The room was s tippical room with one exception IT HAD COCK ROACHES IN THE BATHROOM AND IN THE BED. So they moved us to the same room on the top floor, a bit better. The cock roaches were only in the halls, not in the room at least. Then one day I was sitting in the room and right in front of my eyes the tile floor started to heave and crack in half, I thought the dam place was going to fall down, the crack ran down one wall along the floor and up the other wall. I reported it to the flont desk, they said they would look into it, no one did so 2 days later I went to the manager and it was the first he had heard about it. They sent up maintanance and we were told they could not fix it with us staying in the room, so we only had 3 more days till we left so we put towels on the floor over the broken tiles. We had friends staying at the Tropical bay, what a pain in the ass to go there in the evening, $5.00 taxi ride one way. You can walk the beach during the day but when your dressed up at night you have to take a taxi $10.00 return, they need a shuttle or some thing and to beat all you have to get a note from the manager at the Negril to go to the Tropical bay HOW STUPID IS THAT. We know the public relations manager over at the Tropical Bay so he gave us a weeks pass to go there for dinner, show ect... He said that they are tring to get these two hotels back up to standards, they have been negected in managment.We also saw so many people the we eaten alive by the sand flies that come out at night and feed off the guests. If you want a first class Riu in Jamacia go to the Riu Ocho Rios 6 star all the way.

 
cheryl ede

Registered: August 2007
Posts: 3
Review Date: Wed August 22, 2007 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything excellent
Cons: None

Holiday great, especially staff and accommodation.

 
jamella

Registered: September 2007
Posts: 1
Review Date: Tue November 13, 2007 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Wonderful beach
Cons: None

Had a superb time. Lazed on the beach for 2 weeks. Yet another great RIU experience (our 4th different RIU hotel)

 
karenc

Registered: December 2008
Posts: 2
Review Date: Mon December 8, 2008 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Pretty much everything
Cons: Not close to negril itself - taxi needed to go anywhere

Smile Stayed at Riu Negril in summer 2008 with my husband and 2 teenage daughters. We had a fantastic time, mostly on the beach or by the pool but also did a couple of trips (Dunns River Falls was great fun). The rooms were a good size and kept really clean by friendly staff. The grounds were constantly being tidied and overall the resourt was really well maintained. Food at the buffet each night was varied and really nice. We ate at the A la carte restaurant one night which made a nice change but not really terrifically high standard. The steak house though was excellent - really good steaks. Entertainment staff worked really hard - always smiling but not pushy.


Our daughters said it was the best holiday they've had and we're going to another Riu next year.

 


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2003 All Enthusiast, Inc.

New Page 1




Locations of visitors to this page

Riu Quoting System
FULL SCREEN BOOKING

(CLICK HERE)

Our New Affiliate Bookings


<