New Page 1




Reviews Views Date of last review
6 11128 Sun February 28, 2010
Recommended By Ave price per week Average Rating
100% of reviewers $1,000.00 8.7
naiboa1.jpg

naiboa4.jpg naiboa5.jpg naiboa6.jpg

Description: Hotel Riu Naiboa
Playa Arena Gorda
Punta Cana
Higüey Dominican Republic
Tel. +18092217515 Fax. +1 809 686 6077
E-Mail: hotel.naiboa@riu.com




Location/General information

This popular, newly-renovated resort features 362 guestrooms located in a prime location within the Riu resort complex in Punta Cana. It lies only a few steps away from the Caribbean Street promenade and a short walk from a beautiful white sandy beach.
In the midst of tropical vegetation and a relaxing atmosphere, Riu Naiboa offers a complete array of restaurants, bars, and services while allowing its guests to also enjoy the facilities and amenities of the other 3 sister properties.
The wide variety of sports and leisure activities, along with the lively nightlife throughout the Riu resort, is proof of Riu Naiboa’s great value for an impressive all-inclusive escape.



* Located in Punta Cana
* Inside the Riu Resort, along with the Riu Palace Punta Cana, Riu Palace Macao, Riu Taino hotels and the ClubHotel Riu Bambu
* Separated from the beach by just the Riu Taino hotel
* Complimentary sun loungers on the beach
* 4-storey building
* Surrounded by 20,000 m2 / 24,000 sq. yards of tropical gardens

* 50 km / 31 miles from Higüey
* 150 m / 495 ft. from Caribbean Street
* 30 km / 19 miles from Punta Cana Int’l. Airport
* Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners



More Riu Naiboa Information






asturgeon

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 40
Review Date: Fri October 6, 2006 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything at Naiboa is a pro
Cons: The only con is we had to come home

For all who are planning a trip to the Naiboa do not hesitate just get on the plane!. My wife and I stayed at the Naiboa and thought we had died and gone to heaven it was so fantastic. The staff, the food, the beach, the pool, the shows, all number one excellent. The weather was excellent one shower the night before we came home lasted about twenty minutes and it was over. If anyone has any questions please just leave me a message on Rusty's and I will get it and reply asap.

 
bianca18

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 2
Review Date: Sun December 31, 2006 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: every thing about naiboa is a pro
Cons: the only con is we had to come home

if u are planning on going to riu naiboa u should go. me and my family went to riu naiboa and i thought it was the best place i have ever been to it was fantastic. the have some SEXY STAFF!!! like johnny bravo,maximo,eddie murphy but ya the staff was excellent and the food was very good the shows were good, the clubs were sick, the beach and the pool were beatiful. i had the best time ever there and i cant wait to go back in july it going to be so much fun

 
smithaam

Registered: December 2005
Posts: 20
Review Date: Fri April 13, 2007 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything (people, rooms, entertainment)
Cons: None

I've been to the RIU Naiboa three times and am about to leave for my fourth. Everyone is friendly at the resort and goes out of their way to make you as comfortable as possible during your visit. The staff is amazing. I would recommend this hotel to ANYONE who is thinking of visiting the Dominican Republic and wants to stay at an all-inclusive. You get an unbelievable vacation for the small amount of money that you pay.

 
tlp2005

Registered: August 2006
Posts: 1201
Review Date: Tue October 30, 2007 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Price & the pool
Cons:

This was my first visit to the Naiboa. I will say that I booked it mainly for the price and it fit for what I needed.


Check in was very smooth and we were given a nice refreshing drink. The surprise came when I got to the room. We were given a suite! The extra space and having a double bed was great. The room could use some updating and I wasn't thrilled with the smell of the room. But it was nothing a few scented candles couldn't cure. I mainly noticed it when I would just walk into the room.


I had no trouble with low water pressure from being on the 4th floor, in fact I loved the shower I had.


One minor issue was the plug in's. Yes they are 110 volt, but they are set in to where I was not able to use my blow dryer or charge my camera battery. I was able to get an adapter that I could use for my camera battery, but not my blow dryer. The front desk have several blow dryer's to loan out for an hour at a time if needed. So that is what I did and it worked out fine. In fact Caesar at the front desk was impressed that I had it back with in 15 minutes and told me I would get a free stay. haha.


On the first day I requested a blanket and some extra pillows and received them right away. The front desk employee's were very helpful with any request and always called to confirm they were completed. Tumb's up to the front desk crew!


I found the food the first couple of days great and thought it was the best in offering the true Dominican rice and beans meal. One evening for dinner they served roasted turkey with a passion fruit sauce that was very good! But by the end of the week I grew tried of it. What I ate was good, but I found it to be the same everyday. My favorite was the Rum Raisin & Passion Fruit ice cream and the flan.


The beach....well I hate to admit it but the Naiboa's pool made me not want to go the beach. It is just a short walk, but I found that I loved the pool there. There is no swim up bar, but I like that better.


Word of caution!!! When the resort states they are not responsible and to carry your safe key at all times, DO IT! I left my backpack with my safe key just for a few minutes to check to see if Jose was back from a briefing. I came back to my room and the maid was in there cleaning. She was right by the safe. I didn't think anything of it until later that day I opened my closet door and the key was in the safe. I opened it to check everything and saw that she had gone through my wallet that had my debit card and other things but no cash. I think I walked in on her just in time before she opened my other wallet with the cash. Nothing was taken, but I did not tip all week because of that.


I am not one to get into the animation crew. I did play bingo one evening, but never made it to a show. We were to busy watching the Red Sox in the world series....


Feel free to contact me with any questions you may have...
Tracy

 
bryanb

Registered: July 2007
Posts: 315
Review Date: Mon February 18, 2008 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Loved it all!
Cons:

This is the third year we have been a group travelling and my fifth trip to the Dominican Republic, but my first visit to Punta Cana. I travel with the understanding that I’m not staying at the Ritz or someplace like that and don’t expect the resort to provide that service. I go to have fun and regardless of any little quirks we always do.


Check In
After the 30 minute bus ride to the resort we arrived at the resort. Check in was very good. There were 10 people on the bus to the resort, 7 which were part of our group. I had emailed about a week before asking for a pool view room upgrade and was pleasantly surprised to have gotten it.


When we walked into the lobby we naturally headed for the Reception desk but were called over to a small table, given the registration form and our room keys and brought into a meeting room with a cocktail drink so we could be given some general info on the hotel by the hotel (not the tour operator – that was the next day). The keys to the safe are included with your package and were given out at this session.


Room
As mentioned I asked for a pool view room based on reviews I’ve read. Our group was mainly together in 3 rooms next to each other (only 1 person was away from the group due to a room issue). We were in Rooms 2116, 2117 and 2118.


There was 1 double bed and 1 single bed in each of our rooms. I was under the impression that the Naiboa only had 1 type of room but it turns out they have rooms with Queen/Double mixes – next time we’d try for that type of room.


We had no problems with the water pressure or hot water supply. The power also went out a couple times for a minute or so. Once for about 30 minutes in the afternoon – never long enough to be a hassle.


As others have mentioned the Air Conditioning at this hotel tends to be weak to non-existent in some rooms, ours was one of them. The rooms each have a ceiling fan which keeps the room comfortable so after asking 4 times about the A/C we gave up.


I was prepared for solid beds and found that they weren’t nearly as hard as I had expected. From what I understand from the rest of the group, our beds were softer than what they had. All that said no one had problems sleeping on them. After a day in the sun and a few drinks it’s easy to sleep on almost anything!


The only point of concern was the room keys. As mentioned we were in room 2116, however our key also opened 2117, 2118 and 2119. As we knew everyone in these rooms it was handy at times, but a big security risk. The key we had was engraved for room 2170 so I’m not sure if would work in that door or not. I should point out that the keys for 2117, 2118 and 2119 did not open our door, but they were able to open a couple others besides their own.


Food
I think that this hotel offered the widest selection of breakfast items of any resort I’ve been to. Granted it was always the same selection, there was so much of it, there never was a problem getting your morning started. I think the best thing was the French-toast style Croissants – yummy! We had our breakfast out on the terrace each morning which was a nice touch.


Lunch was normally eaten at the beach at either the Pizzeria or Beach Bar and was Burgers, Pizza, Fries, Pasta, Hot Dogs, etc. They had this roasted Chicken which is almost as good as Swiss Chalet! I didn’t try the main buffet for lunch so I don’t know the selection.


Supper was always a different theme each night at the buffet so that was good. We also did the Italian a la carte 3 times, Steak House once and the Caribbean Restaurant once. To book the a-la cartes, you need to talk to the Buffet manager the night before and pick up your reservation slip at Breakfast the next day.

Snacks – There was never a time when we couldn’t find something to eat. Between the Pool Bar, Beach Bar and Pizzeria food was served until at least 2 AM. We never managed to find the 24 hour food at the Bamboo (it was always – 5 more minutes before it’s here, which never seemed to end).


NOTE: Supper at the Buffet: There are 2 seating’s. On the day you arrive go to the Buffet Manager and book your seating for your stay. You are assigned a specific table for your stay. Men must wear pants and a shirt with sleeves to be admitted – I saw a few people turned away.


Bars
There are several bars to visit should you wish to. There is the Pool bar, the Beach bar, Lobby Bar (at night), Pizzeria Bar, Bamboo Bar, the Swim Up bar at the Taino and Bamboo, plus many more we didn’t get to. Each bar we went to made good drinks.


The Beach
Being this our first time to Punta Cana we were pleased to see the sand was basically white. The beach was as clean as you can expect. You need to watch where you walk as smokers seemed to be just putting their butts out in the sand where ever they chose. Perhaps some ashtrays would help with this habit.


We spent all but 1 day at the beach. While you may have to move some chairs to where you want to sit, we never had a problem finding available ones to use until the second week when it became quite crowded, so we paid one of the beach workers to reserve us a group of 8 loungers - it was easy to find a couple but trying to find 8 was heard.

A note for those with Children, I saw more topless sunbathing at this resort than I’ve seen at any other one. Didn’t bother us but if you have young children you may need to have a talk with them before going.


Pool
We made us of the Naiboa pool and never got into any of the other ones we had access too as we were happy on the beach. The Naiboa’s pool is very nice and wasn’t too bad for chairs in the morning. If you spend the day at the Beach and want to move to the pool in the late afternoon you may have a hard time getting chairs as it was quite full by then.


Entertainment
We only made it to 2 shows. One was an audience participation one to get the “Ideal Couple” – funny but cheesy. The other one was the Michael Jackson show – Foot work was awesome!! The song selection could be better but the movement was like watch the real deal.


Each Thursday night is the Caraval Riu along Caribbean Street. They have bars set up along the street and have vendors in as well. The highlight is a quick parade up the street – gets the guests involved.


Activities
The Animation team had activities going on throughout the day and would even come down the to the beach to spot hotel guests and remind them of some of the events (such as the pool party). I didn’t partake in any but I did see them hold Stretching sessions, water volleyball, aqua-fitness and water polo to name a few.

 
bryanb

Registered: July 2007
Posts: 315
Review Date: Sun February 28, 2010 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: $1,000.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: The Beach!
Cons: Starting to show it's age

This was our second trip to the Naiboa (first trip was in February 2008). We travel with the understanding that we are not staying at the Ritz or someplace like that and don’t expect the resort to provide that service. We go to have fun and regardless of any little quirks we always do.


Flights
As always, Sunquest was using Skyservice for the flights. We had prebooked the Priority Plus package from Skyservice (well worth it for the extra baggage allowance). We had no problem either going or returning.


Check In
After the 30 minute bus ride to the resort we arrived at the resort. Check in was very good. Having been before we knew what to expect. I had emailed about a week before asking for a pool view room in the same area as we were located last time and found that they were able to accommodate the request (in fact we had the exact same rooms as 2 years ago – Rooms 2116 & 2117).


When we walked into the lobby we headed for the Reception desk and given the registration form and our room keys as well as some general info on the hotel by the hotel (not the tour operator – that was the next day). The keys to the safe are included with your package and were given out at this session.


Room
There was 1 double bed and 1 single bed in each of our rooms. We had no problems with the water pressure or hot water supply. As others have mentioned the Air Conditioning at this hotel tends to be weak to non-existent in some rooms, ours was still one of them. The rooms each have a ceiling fan which keeps the room comfortable so we never bothered asking to have the A/C fixed.


Last time our concern was the room keys - we were in room 2116, however our key also opened 2117, 2118 and 2119 (we were a group of people in a row). This time we noticed our keys would not open each other’s room so I assume they’ve taken some corrective measures.


The rooms are dated but clean. Our housekeeping person was excellent. I had read about a lot of theft recently. We had absolutely no issue. We left gifts for the maid which she didn’t take and only would when we handed her the items. I left tips on my pillow which she knew were for her. My roommate left some coin pesos next to the TV and they were there for several days without problem. That said we didn’t leave electronics out – they were safely put in the safe to be cautious.


Food
As we did last time, we had our breakfast out on the terrace each morning which was a nice touch. The French toast made of croissants is still my favourite. Other than the very last day when things were running unusually low there was always plenty of selection. On the last day they seemed to be running out of things without it being refilled. A few words from the manager to the staff had that quickly resolved.


The biggest disappointment for me was that the Pizzeria was closed down. Last time that is where we had almost all our lunches. They had this roasted Chicken which is almost as good as Swiss Chalet, so it was a shame it was closed up! We tried the main buffet at the Naiboa, Taino and Bambu for lunch and found that the Bambu had the best selection with the Taino coming in second. There was nothing wrong with the lunch at the Naiboa buffet, it just didn’t have as big of a selection as the others (most people are at the beach so why waste the food!).


Supper was always a different theme each night at the buffet so that was good. Supper times (in the winter) are at 6:30 and 8:30 PM. We also did the Italian a la carte and Steak House once. To book the a-la cartes, you need to talk to the Buffet manager during breakfast the day you want the a-la carte.

Snacks – There was never a time when we couldn’t find something to eat. Between the Pool Bar, Beach Bar and Pizzeria food was served until at least 2 AM. We actually managed to find the 24 hour food at the Bambu this time – there is a building to the right of the 24 hour bar with hamburgers, hot dogs and fries.


NOTE: Supper at the Buffet: There are 2 seating’s. On the day you arrive go to the Buffet Manager and book your seating for your stay. You are assigned a specific table for your stay. Men were able to wear shorts this year (last time it was pants) and a shirt with sleeves to be admitted.


Bars
There are several bars to visit should you wish to. There is the Pool bar, the Beach bar, Lobby Bar (at night), Bambu Bar, the Swim Up bar at the Taino and Bambu, plus many more we didn’t get to. Each bar we went to made good drinks.


The Beach
The beach was as clean as you can expect. You need to watch where you walk as smokers seemed to be just putting their butts out in the sand where ever they chose. Perhaps some ashtrays would help with this habit.


We spent most mornings at the beach and moved to the pool in the afternoon. While you may have to move some chairs to where you want to sit, we never had a problem finding available ones.

Pool
We made us of the Naiboa pool and never got into any of the other ones we had access too as we were happy on the beach. The Naiboa’s pool is very nice and wasn’t too bad for chairs in the morning. If you spend the day at the Beach and want to move to the pool in the late afternoon you may have a hard time getting chairs as it was quite full by then.


Entertainment
We made it to several shows. One was the Michael Jackson show – Foot work was awesome!! The song selection could be better but the movement was like watch the real deal. The other really good one was the Circus show – be sure to bring your camera!


Each Thursday night is the Caraval Riu along Caribbean Street. They have bars set up along the street and have vendors in as well.


Activities
The Animation team had activities going on throughout the day. I didn’t partake in any but I did see them hold Stretching sessions, water volleyball, aqua-fitness and water polo plus a few “Crazy Games” to name a few.



Trips
The one trip we wanted to do and did do was the Zipline tour. It’s a half day excursion into the mountains (cost was $89US per person). The tour includes 11 lines with the longest being 900 meters long. It was a great time! I didn’t buy the picture they took of me but a couple others bought theirs and they turned out really well. I think the cost was about $15US for the picture.


There are many Beach Vendors about a 20 minute up the beach (turn right when you walk onto the beach and follow it). We made a couple trips up there. What I did was look at the prices in the hotel and on Caribbean Street first to know what others were selling things for so I knew what to pay.


General
Towards the end of our first week close to 300 students arrived. I thought they said they were with s-Trip but I couldn’t find any Riu property listed with them. Anyway, other than the first night they were there when they basically took over one of the bars we had no problems. They seemed to be respectful in the hallways to keep the noise down, etc.


Also, as a result of the earthquake in Haiti, there is a Leave your Clothes campaign. The Riu’s are not participating in the campaign, however our Sunquest rep was aware of it and collected our donations and was making arrangements to have them dropped off for us. We had been advised before that the airport had a collection point, however we saw no sign of it or volunteers when we were leaving.


Summary
Given the many negative reviews on some sites for this hotel recently I was a bit concerned but we encountered no problems that others apparently had. We’d happily return this resort (perhaps upgrade to one of the newer hotels) and I have no problem recommending it to others.

 


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2003 All Enthusiast, Inc.

New Page 1




Locations of visitors to this page

Riu Quoting System
FULL SCREEN BOOKING

(CLICK HERE)

Our New Affiliate Bookings


<