New Page 1




Reviews Views Date of last review
12 11427 Sun March 3, 2013
Recommended By Ave price per week Average Rating
100% of reviewers $927.50 8.0
lup1.jpg

lup4.jpg lup5.jpg lup6.jpg

Description: Hotel Riu Lupita


Avda. Xaman-Ha, Manzana 20, Lote 1, Condominio Playacar
77710 Playa del Carmen
Quintana Roo - Mexico
Tel. +529848730505 Fax. +52 984 873 1045
E-Mail: hotel.lupita@riu.com




Location/General information

Located within the exclusive Playacar resort area alongside a spectacular championship golf course, the hotel encompasses 300 comfortable guestrooms with Riu's unique amenities, such as fully stocked mini-bars and liquor dispenser, while the inviting swimming pools set the perfect mood for enjoying the surrounding vegetation along with the wide array of restaurants, bars and facilities. Plenty of sports and entertainment options guarantee great holidays for everyone.
Riu Lupita offers a unique and cosy atmosphere for relaxing, fun-filled holidays!



* Located on the Yucatan peninsula, 2 km / 1.2 miles from Playa del Carmen
* Main building and 1 and 3-storey bungalows
* Surrounded by 25,000 m2 / 29,900 sq. yards of lush gardens
* 3.5 km / 2.1 miles from the beach (complimentary transportation)

* Complimentary sun loungers on the beach
* 2.5 km / 1.5 miles from a shopping centre
* 50 km / 31 miles from Cancun Intíl. Airport
* Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners



More Riu Lupita Information






Kingston

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 36
Review Date: Sun September 10, 2006 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: $1,260.00 | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Excellent service, Quiet and Relaxing for those looking for this type of holiday
Cons: Can't see the ocean

RIU Lupita Palladan 10/26/2004
Reviewers Rating: Excellent
Lovely, small, 300 room resort which has just undergone a 10 million dollar facelift when the RIU chain purchased it from Occidental group. It has not diminished in any way for being an off-beach location. Rooms are average size, with two double beds, full bathroom (tub, shower, sink, toilet), brand new furniture (dark mahogany), lots of drawers, colourful bedspreads, curtains and painting on the wall. Hair dryer, shampoo and bath gel provided. Patio or balcony overlooking either quiet pool, golf course, or pretty gardens. One buffet, one a la carte (Mexican), one central bar services the entire resort located by the large, main pool with dolphin fountain. Fully stocked fridge in each room containing 6 Corona, 4 Pepsi, 2 Orange, 2 Seven-Up, 2 soda water, 4 large bottles of spring water - all replenished every 2nd day. Beach towels provided in exchange for towel cards. Complimentary room safe. Key system to open the heavy mahogany doors. Very sound proof - couldn't hear the disco located within view of our balcony. Disco walls are carpeted and keep the sound on the inside (very loud when you are in there). The quiet pool is relaxing (our room overlooked this pool...Building 2023). One and two story villas painted in terra cotta or dark yellow surrounded by lots of greenery. Buffet service was excellent, food 5 star quality. Coffee urns on each table in the morning; specialty tea available. No specified seating; breakfast served from 7 - 10:30 am; lunch from 1 - 4 and supper 7 - 10 pm. Pool grill served hamburgers, hotdogs, nachos, salads, fries, popcorn machine. Drink menu provided. Corona beer served on tap. Each room had a liquor dispenser with four 40 oz bottles of rum, tequila, gin and vodka for personal use. Two theme nights (Mayan and Mexican) - excellent food, huge variety and top quality. Mexican a la carte beautifully decorated; 5 star quality and service. Air conditioned shuttle to the Playacar beach beginning at 8 am to 6 pm every 30 minutes and less than 10 minutes drive through the upscale, Playacar condo community. Five minute, $4.00 taxi ride to 5th Ave, the shopping district of Playa del Carmen. Evening shows where professional dancers from Cancun came; the RIU Lupita dancers are in training at the other resorts and performed the last night of our stay. Very friendly group who mingle with all the guests. Mostly Europeans from Italy, Spain, France, and Germany with a few British and Canadians during our week. The resort got fuller near the end of our week. We used the facilities of the Playacar, Yucatan and Tequila and asked at Reception for a pass to the Palace which did not include food or drinks but we could use the pool, nap in the hammocks and view the hotel. We loved the RIU experience. The beach was spectacular....saw a wedding on Saturday at the Playacar on the beach. Roped off area for swimmers; lots of activities on the beach and at the swim-up pool bars. No swim-up bar at the Lupita but didn't miss it. Lupita is a quieter hotel which was a lovely retreat from the loudness of the other RIUs. No better value for your vacation dollar in our opinion, especially when you can Stay at 1 and Play at 4 - all located in the Playacar area. Hot 34C all week with no rain during our October stay. An hour's drive to the Cancun airport. Having a 10:15 am flight meant leaving the Lupita at 6:15 am (argh) but they provided coffee before the departure so it would be a good idea to take some fruit and muffins from the buffet the night before if you have a departure before the breakfast buffet opens.


Update: RIU Lupita has opened their own beach club located beside the Palace, so the shuttle to the RIU Playacar is not necessary.

 
peterhr
Site Admin

Registered: September 2005
Posts: 14705
Review Date: Sat June 16, 2007 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

JoLee's Review (copied from Trip Advisor) ...


Just returned from our 2 weeks vacation to Lupita.
I e-mailed a request for room and on arrival our room was Just as requested, 2nd floor,with View of quiet pool. A1 . It was clean and kept this way for 2 weeks. We tipped ,plus a small gift each day and had clean towels,stocked bar,cool room, towel animals on bed each day, A1.
One day the lamp was broken, a call to desk and an electrician fixed the broken-off bulb and short-out right away.
We requested a type of liquor not supplied in the room bar, and maybe because we tipped the bartenders often and have been to another Riu before, a bottle appeared with a note from the bar manager. NICE.
I used the Internet, if you have a RIU card you get 2 hour's for the price of one hour.


We enjoyed both pools and animation activities.Darts,Horseshoes ,Bocci Ball. Hubby won lots of certificates.


We enjoyed the shows: Mariachi,Broadway,LasVegas,Maya Night, Caribeno and Folklore, very well done by the RIU Dancers. also enjoyed Casino night,by the animacion team.


Did NOT go to the Mexican restaurant, enjoyed the Buffet, so many choices.From Tuna Steak to Pecan Pie ,what more do you Need?


We gave the bus driver a tip each day and enjoyed the drive to the Beach Area and back. It runs from 7.30 to 6.45p.m. He dropped us off @ circle only 2 blks. from 5th ave.and dock to Cozumel 2 days.
We love Playa del Carmen town,and even went to Walmart(now that's funny)


We went to the BEACH at the RIU Playacar and RIU Yucatan,also used their Pools and Restaurants and Bars.,Plenty to do,you need 2 weeks!!
I think I enjoyed Playacar a little better as it isn't as buzy.
I went on a tour of the RIU Palace Mexico- Darn Nice place, but I did notice a very musty smell in the room, more so than at any other resort we have been too.
I went on a Kitchen tour or the RIU Yucatan, very clean and impressed watching the girls do cake decorations.
We even checked out the Tequila. It's so nice to be able to go to the other 4 RIU resorts Plus the Lupita.


Did NOT to to Disco, but noise woke me up at 1 a.m. once. I mentioned this, just as a joke to the Animation Boss, His reply was "he would have to SEE to it". No more Late Night Music !!- they must have kept the doors shut I guess- GOOD !!


I read about the "Birds" on a previous review and it's true, Birds KNOW when the food is put out at the Snack Bar! "Get it BEFORE they do"!!. Darn I forgot to write it on the Comment sheet that Riu passes out on your stay,as I feel some action should be taken there,as I have never noticed them to be so troublesome at other Resorts. lol


We talked to lots of nice people, from Loads and loads of countries,from Mexico to Chile.
Would we return, YES if the price was good, but I think I would go for the Playacar RIU as a 1st.choice.

 
Bamelin

Registered: June 2007
Posts: 46
Review Date: Sat March 22, 2008 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Many Europeans and Mexicans (cultural diversity), small and quiet, very personal
Cons: food wasn't as good as ClubHotel class, rooms not as nice as clubhotel class

I stayed at RIU Lupita the last week of June 2007. Having stayed at RIU Bachata (visited Meregue and Mambo as well) in the DR in 2003, I was able to directly compare the two against each other.


In terms of food (taste), facilities, size, liquor quality, and pools, RIU Lupita is definately a couple stars below Bachata, and at least one star below Merengue and Mambo. Yucatan, Playacar and Tequila blow Lupita out of the water to be honest.



With that said, Lupita DOES have it's charms. It's a smaller resort with a one central bar area which means that guests get to know each other. There's basically no Americans at the resort, with most of the guests from and Mexico, with a smattering of Canadians/other Europeans tossed into the mix. This makes things somewhat interesting and creates a very authentically cultural flair to the resort ... I can't really explain it except to say that it's a very different social/cultural experience from resorts that cater to US citizens.


The rooms are hit or miss ... they felt like a downgrade from my experience at RIU Bachata, however they were clean for the most part (we asked to switch rooms when we arrived and our second room was much cleaner). Also our bed was more comfier at Lupita than at Bachata, although I suspect that most RIU beds are kinda hard.


One nice thing about Lupita is that it DOES have the RIU name behind it ... this means you get the stocked mini bar perk and exchange privliges with Yucatan/Playacar/Tequila. Essentially you can end up paying rock bottom prices for Lupita (word of advice -- find this resort on a last minute site) and use the other resorts during the day.


A typical day at Lupita ran like this: Get up, go to Breakfast buffet. Breafkast buffet was fairly decent. Take dip in pool. Head to front desk and wait for shuttle bus to RIU Lupita Private Beach Club (7 minute ride, shuttles every half hour or so). Instead of going to RIU Lupita Private Beach Club (which really did kinda suck -- no beach), walk down the road 10 minutes to either Yucatan or Playacar. The beach at Yucatan was mind blowingly amazing, with Playacar a close second. Enjoy lunch buffet at Yucatan or beach grill. Take shuttle back around 5 - 6 to RIU Lupita (you can't use other resorts dinner buffets, only lunch). Eat so-so buffet at RIU Lupita. Gather for night entertainment (meh), drink with Mexicans and Europeans for hours then crash out at midnight.


The one A la Carte restaurant at Lupita was pretty good, but the buffet really wasn't that great, fairly bland selection often repeated. We had a kitchen fire at Lupita's buffet one night so they bussed us to Tequila for dinner ... Tequila's buffet absolutely destroyed RIU Lupita in terms of quality and selection.


To sum things up, Lupita is a resort for the value concious traveller. I got a last minute package with my wife, 650 dollars each from Toronto (total was 1300). At that price RIU Lupita was a bargain, and a damn sight better than most 3 star hotels out there, considering the mini fridge, and the exchange privliges that let you take advantage of the superior resorts.


Lupita was like a 3 and 4 star resort mixed together. Rooms were typical RIU quality (a little worse but not by much), but the food was really where I thought things suffered. With that said, the staff was amazing, and staying at Lupita I got to really get a nice taste of Mexico on a rock bottom budget, while still staying at a place that's somewhat "quality".


Interestingly enough, even though RIU Bachata is a far better hotel that RIU Lupita, I had way more fun at Lupita. I think maybe it's just Playa Del Carmen ... the place is a blast, and I really loved the people and the beaches in Playa far better than Puerto Plata.


So in closing ... Lupita is the place to go if you're on a tight budget but desperately need to get away. Do NOT go expecting the same experience you had at RIU Yucatan or RIU Tequila. You will be dissapointed ... but if you're willing to find and go on a last minute deal, you will more than get your money's worth.


It all depends what you are looking for out of a vacation.


edit: one other thing -- Peter is right about Lupita being far less busy than the other RIU's in the area. This is probaly the one thing I REALLY liked about Lupita ... Yucatan was so packed during the day, coming home to Lupita was like returning to a nice homey sort of resort where you could get away from the crowds, maybe take a dip, have some drinks then crash out.

 
Natascha

Registered: February 2008
Posts: 24
Review Date: Thu March 27, 2008 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: $1,184.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Staff doing their utmost to please avery customer
Cons: the corona beer that's like dishwater, mexican mosquito's... :)

We just got come yesterday afternoon in our very cold Belgium, from a wonderful stay at this magnificent country and hotel. I must admit I got a bit worried 'bout going to the lupita, because I had the idea that it would be kind of boring because it's the smallest of all riu's. This really isn't true: After one day at this hotel we already felt like we were at home. The big advantage of this hotel is the fact it's that small. The pool area, bar, entertainment area and restaurant are all in the same place and it's just cosy. It's also way much easier to get to know the people working and staying there if it's not as crowded as like in the other riu's. We visited the tequila and yucatan once in the morning, because my friend is a travel agent and she just wanted to check them out, but after one hour in both hotels we just wanted to go back to Lupita :-) Other riu's were overcrowded and the people stay!ing there weren't really our kind of ppl.. Annoying american girls for example :-) I see some ppl complain about the french at the lupita, but it's really not that bad. We got to know some great ppl from france, from canada, etc. I think it also depends on your attitude, we had the advantage that we spoke french quite well so it was easier to mingle.


Rooms are of a decent quality, without great luxury, but we only were in our room to prepare for the night and to sleep, so for us, it was quite ok. Most important thing is that the rooms are very well cleaned, and if you leave a tip, you always get a free towel art piece of the housekeeping staff. How do they do this? Really amazing!!


Food was also of a very good and high quality. Of course it's different from our cuisine, but you have to try and taste some new things. Breakfast was good with a great variety, we only went to the buffet twice, but it was quite ok. We always had lunch and dinner in our hotel, and it was very very good. Vegetables, different sorts of meats, local food, pasta, pizza, grill.. Especially at dinner it was nice, because every night there was a theme night, italian, mexican, spanish, night.. Very good! Staff was very friendly, if you're finished, you don't have to wait long before they take your plate. Also the bar staff was amazing, we'll especially remember the "chief", andres, very funny and nice guy.


Beach club: we only went once to this beach club, it was nice over there, it's not "right" on the beach, but it has a nice view and the restaurant over there isn't bad either. Of course not as varied as in the hotel itself, but it was ok. Shuttle didn't arrive on mexican time, it actually arrived too early :-) What a surprise!!! (but a pleasant one :-)


Entertainment was of a very good quality. During the day there are lots of activities. If you want to join in, ok, if you want to skip it, it's ok.. they aren't as pushy as in some other resorts, dragging you of your chairs into joining them. Evening entertainment was sometimes "professional" with latino or broadway show, but we so liked the shows of the entertainment team themselve, especially the crazy shows. Not as professional maybe, but their enthusiasm and the sarcasm of that show rocks. We also had tons of laughs with the mister riu lupita contest (and we got the full monty, as promised...). You can see they love their job and they're doing it great. Our "favorites" are without any doubt Lalo, such a crazy outgoing guy, always smiling and Roberto: We had a couple of talks with him and maybe he isn't the hottest guy around (although he's quite cute :-)) but he's really nice and being himself without having to put up a great show. If he's in the area just make sure there are no glasses around, because he seems to break them sometimes :-)


Party at playa del carmen rocks too... We went out like 5 times with the entertainment staff and some clients, 2 times to blue parrot and 3 times to the Bali. I must say, bali was more my kind of thing, a nice club, nice atmospere too and not that big. It was a great way to get to know some ppl of the hotel. I even had to drag one of them to the toilettes because she couldn't do the steps by herself (so you see open bar isn't always good). But in general we had a great time over there. Blue parrot was also very nice, but just different. We went like 3 times to the hotel disco, 2 to the one of the riu tequila (very crowded with lots of screaming and drooling teenagers, I'm too old for that :-)), and we went 3 times on our own downtown. Unfortunately there was a queu to get in bali and after 20 minutes we got tired of waiting and went to the blue parrot :-)


The country itself is magnificent too. We did go on excursion for 4 days. We went to coba - pac chen. Coba is a real must, especially because you can climb the temple and you have a magnificent vue on the jungle. Driving around the site on maya limo is also quite nice, but I felt sorry for the guy that had to pull us.. -) Pac chen was quite adventurous with rappel and canoeing and so on but it was really nice. We also went on a quad excursion, what an adventure!! Both me and my friend were on the back with one of the guides as drivers. So it happened quite a lot that they waited for 2 minutes to get everyone ahead of us, and then they took off, racing, I even got on the highway with my guide. I must say it's quite an experience.. :-) We also went to chichen itza, normally we should've seen the snake but unfortunately there was no sun, it actually rained, so it was quite a bummer.. We also went to go to tulum and xel ha. Xel ha was quite relaxing and tulum quite exhausting (hot hot hot), but tulum is such a beautiful site nearby the ocean, magnificent view!!!


If you're looking for a nice, quiet hotel with a great atmosphere, without expecting too much of luxury, you should go to this resort. I already know I'll return within a couple of months for sure. Mexico rocks, and riu lupita too.. aha aha :-)

 
JLO
Riu Ambassador

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 1996
Review Date: Mon April 14, 2008 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: $617.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: no complaints loved it!
Cons: the rooms are smaller then most Riu's but we are rarely in our rooms.

Review of Riu Lupita!
Date of our vacation March 13th - 20th/08
Date of this review posting April 14th/08


We had a great time at the Riu Lupita. This resort is "great value for the money" it also goes on sale a lot for us Canadians. My daughter and my niece who are both 13 years old did not want to leave and they said "we want to live here forever"
My parents and I all said we would go back in a haertbeat.
For families who would like to experience the Mayan Riviera but find it a little pricey this is the resort for you it is full of Riu Quality and half of the price. There are lots of activities; The animacion team were loads of fun; The surroundings are extremely relaxing! Surrounded by nature lot's of trees, hammocks within the trees,and the sound of birds was so great to just lay back and relax to it. The bus/shuttle to the beach club was very convenient and so easy for both gooing to the beach and coming back even with loading my mom's wheelchair on it for the paved path from where the bus drops you off. You walk along and there in front of you is the most beautiful shades of ocean blue, turquoise water you could imagine. The driver of the shuttle was so helpful to us and seemed so surprised by our tip. He took great care of us for so little!
The beach club is so much more then we expected. Many palm trees, rows of chaise lounges. Good washroom facilities. It was very clean. We tipped the young girl that was cleaning the area around the washrooms and she looked after my mom's wheelchair for the whole day while we relaxed by the beach.
Now about the beach - lot's of soft white sand beautiful views of the water. Raised up man made beach behind the white fence made it possible to lay on your chaise and gaze out at the water. I loved it! When you walk down the stairs to the beach I was surprised how the beach near the Palace Riviera Maya has improved. The beach here is better then at the other Palace or Yucatan but I will say that i think the measures being taken now for shoreline protection are starting to be effective. At the Riu Lupita Beach Club down at the water's edge I walked in a straight line to the white cement break wall and I could take 25 steps wlking at a normal pace. In front of the Riu Palace Riviera Maya I could take 55 steps to reach the breakwall. We did take an adventourous walk from the Riu Lupita beach club along the shore to the Yucatan and now that was an adventure. I had my bathing suit and my wrap on but I had to climb on rocks, breakwalls etc to dodge the waves. Most of the resorts between the Riu Lupita and the other Riu's have no beach at all. It was so strange to see it this way-still beautiful just less beach. When we made it to the Playacar the original Riu Palace and the Yucatan I was surprised. Such a high cliff to climb to reach the stairs next to the Yucatan pool. There are white bags of sand propped under the white railings so that no further erosion occurs. If you had never been there before you would still look out at a beautiful blue water & white sandy beach but it is just so different it the best way to describe it. I enjoyed my adventure walk and I loved my walk around the paths of the Yucatan . So many great memories from that resort.
The food at the Riu Lupita was better then even what we remember from the Riu Tequila. There was not one meal we didn't enjoy. Chocolate fountains at dessert. Lot's of seafood even sushi bars many nights. i loved the open atmosphere of the Lupita and the fact that you can see the live entertainment on the stage from the dining room. most dinners there were live singers on the stage with mexican music during dinner.
the food at the beach club was also good and even though there is no beach bar they did have beer, wine and pina coladas and merengue drinks near the food on tap and in frozen dispensers. I loved it. We walked from the beach club one day about 15 minutes along the road to the small plaza of stores across form the playacar then went to the Riu Tequila for a drink and took a cab back to the Lupita. We saw Francesca who is now the manager or the Tequila she invited us to come back another night for dinner and we did that. It was great to see our waiters from previous stays at Riu Tequila but it was noisy and we said to each other that eating is more relaxed at the Lupita. We watched a show at the Tequila and talked to Hilario and Alberto two great dancers. We took a cab back to the Lupita at bedtime. Every cab ride is $5.00 no matter where you are going. Going into playa del carmen twice was fun one day trip and one early evening trip. During the day when the bus driver takes you to the beach he does stop by the traffic circle and yell out "shopping"so if you want to walk into Playa to 5th avenue it isn't that far. The staff go out of their way to be fun and kind. Beach parties, pool parties, et c. going on as well as mexican cooking and drink making. The lobby is small and very few couches but it is a relaxing place to sit in the evenings. the open air bar is great to sit an relax at and it is the only bar. they will make you pretty well anythingyou ask for and the head bar tender is featured in the new Riu magazine for his apple martini. i didn't try it but others said it was good. My only point to mention as a negative was that the rooms are very small and really only comfortably accomodate two people. That was okay because that is how we set things up. Our rooms were in buildings 30 and 29 and faced the quiet pool. the disco at the Lupita is cleaner and fresher then the one at Tequila and quieter. the Lupita has it's own spa, a medical clinic and a great day care like kids club. There were no small kids there when we stayed Vanessa and Shelby were the youngest at 13 yrs old so the kids club wasn't running. those two girls got all of the attention by the animacion and played everything from volleyball to darts to bingo etc. they had a blast. I better stop there since I'm ready to call and rebook! It is not luxury it is basic as basic gets in the rooms but hey the service and the staff and the fact you can stay for a week in the Mayan like this at this price is a great thing. JLO

 
asturgeon

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 40
Review Date: Thu June 19, 2008 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: $857.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Everything
Cons: Not Much

First, like many here I am a loyal RIU Resort Guest and have now stayed in four different RIU Resorts.I have never stayed in a RIU that didnt treat me and/or my family with respect, and with class. I am a RIU Class Client and use my points from time to time to get little extra's. This was my second trip to Playa del Carmen and my son's first trip and he too fell in love with RIU and with Playa del Carmen. We went to have fun and to celebrate his 30th birthday.


Being as my son is a golf nut, we booked a round of golf at the playacar golf club that is situated next door to the RIU Lupita. It was an excellent course and a great time was had. NOW !! we did have a camera stolen from our room but, my son did not put it in the safe as instructed so therefore it really isnt the RIU Lupita's responsibiliy in any way. BUT the hotel did perform an investigation and the matter was resolved WITH CLASS AND TOO OUR SATISFACTION(will not give details but it was awesome)


HOTEL: This hotel is NOT located on the beach with the other RIU Resorts. It isnt any problem getting to the beach as a shuttle will take you there and back every few minutes and its a five minute ride and its FREE!!. The hotel is quiete compared to the RIU Yucatan I stayed at last year. The hotel has everything all the others do with the exception of a swim up bar but, you have the use of all the other RIU Resorts (except the palace) so that wasnt a problem either.


Food: The buffett was awesome as usual and a person cannot go hungry because of the choices.If you do your an idiot. One thing I did find was that the only salad dressing they offer is thousand island and nothing else so for that week i had to go with out my favorite blue cheese dressing.(I'll live)


Pools:The pools are very clean, one very close to the bar area and one a few short steps away. Plenty of lounge chairs, and lots of entertainment by a wonderful entertainment staff.


STAFF: The entire RIU Lupita staff were excellent, they took care of all of our needs and then some. They are willing to go an extra mile to make sure your stay is a great one. Even when I didnt tip my bartender s Rodolpho and Luis it didnt matter I got a great drink, a smile, and a good laugh. Although I do tip them because I consider it good manners it made no difference in the service. The Assistant manager Fernanda is an amazing lady both in looks and in her caring, understanding way of doing business. She could be found almost any time. RIU Resorts are a class act and the managers prove it the way they manage the hotel and its staff.


ROOMS: The rooms are very nice, had everything we needed. Shower pressure a bit off but thats not a bad thing really. Towel art left every day, bar refilled if required, clean, tasteful room no complaints.


All in all we had a wonderful vacation at the RIU Lupita and would return in a heartbeat. I would recommend the RIU Lupita to anyone and therefore if your thinking of going to RIU Lupita do not hesitate to book this resort as I am sure if your not a picky person you will find this resort to be a great place for your vacation. Any questions please feel free to email me at anytime.

 
Jo_from_Edmonton

Registered: September 2008
Posts: 13
Review Date: Wed December 17, 2008 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Location and size
Cons: Cleanliness

SPECS: Group of 4 people (ages mid 20s to 40s) from Dec 7th to Dec 14th packaged vacation with Sunquest from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.


BACKGROUND: This was my 4th week at a Mayan Riviera resort but for others in the group it was their first vacation. We normally stay at 5 star accommodations and are very laid back people who go with the flow of things.


ROOM: At first I was very disappointed in the rooms as there were some small ants in the room that were there the entire stay. We had a main floor bungalow room near the tennis courts and reception area. The rooms are kept clean but the tub wasnít very clean. The bedding and curtains are showing their age and the towels always had a strange smell, even the fresh ones. Once I got past those issues I think the room was sufficient and met the needs of our group. The room is supplied with hard alcohol, beer, bottled water and pop which are refilled every other day. Our maid cleaned our room daily and was very respectful of our belongings. There is an in room safe in the closet with a hard key (not a magnetic one). At check in you are given a towel card for each person and are responsible to return the towel cards and safe key at the end of the stay and there is a fee for missing cards/keys. The room safe and contents of the refrigerator (pop, beer etc) are included in the price and there is no extra charge for these services. The doors slam shut and we could here most people within our building shut their doors; this might be a problem for those wanting to sleep in. There is no in room clock but we just asked for a wake up call or checked the TV as needed. I rate the room 3 stars.


FOOD: Selection was much less than the larger resorts we have previously stayed at but the food was very good. I am a picky eater who does not eat seafood or a lot of meat but I found the food plentiful and delicious. Others in my group ate a lot of seafood and meat and were also very impressed with both the quality and quantity of the food. There is 1 buffet restaurant and 1 ala carte. We ate once at the ala carte and the food was delicious but there werenít many options for those who donít eat seafood (still left full though!). The setting at the ala carte is a lot more casual than I expected and I think a person will have to go to Playa Del Carmen for a nicer upscale dinner. There is a snack bar that is open when the buffet is closed that has basic food to get you through until dinner. I ate immense quantities of food but actually managed to lose weight on this trip. I rate the food 4.5 stars.


DRINKS: There is 1 main bar located in the main area (pool, buffet, ala carte restaurant, snack bar and bar are all in 1 main area). The bar staff are fabulous! They remember your drink preferences, are quick to serve all patrons and the service is very friendly. There is also a Disco from 11pm to 2am and is the only location to get a drink late at night. The Disco ranges from very lame to fun depending on your attitude as well as other guests in the hotel. I rate the bar staff 5 stars.


ANIMATION TEAM: There are events all through the day to keep the fun flowing. Not all events happen at the time scheduled but there is something going on through most of the day. In particular Tadeo was a lot of fun but they are all great. I rate the animation team 5 stars ďUn hunh Un hunhĒ.


BEACH: This resort is not located at the beach. There is a bus that drives patrons to the beach every Ĺ an hour with service from 7:30am to 6:45pm with a lunch break with no service. The beach club has a selection of food and drinks, chaise loungers to sit on and bathrooms. We didnít spend very much time here but found the beach area sufficient and we enjoyed walking up and down the Playacar beaches. If you miss the bus it is a 20 minute walk to the hotel or a $5 cab ride (we never did take a cab but we were told that is the rate). A lot of the beaches in the area have large bladders full of sand to prevent erosion. I rate the beach 3 stars.


POOLS: There is a main pool and a smaller quiet pool. The weather and pool water were very cool for our entire stay and we didnít spend very much time in the pool. The main pool is small but so is the resort. I think it might get crowded when the weather is hot but there is always the beach to go to if you need more space. All of the chaise loungers filled up with people daily, even with cool weather and it being off season. I rate the pools 3.5 stars.


KIDS CLUB: We didnít have any kids with us but because we usually travel with them I took notice of the kidís activities. Most evening there were no children that participated in the kids show so the Lupita will be good if your kids donít mind staying with you or will still have fun with low attendance of other children. All the staff was very attentive to the kids who were present but due to the small size of the resort there just werenít many kids there. I canít really rate the kids club as I didnít see enough of it.


GROUNDS: Staff work hard to keep the hotel clean but the Lupita isnít as polished as we are used to. We were able to find several spiders in their webs (I am scared of spiders so I tend to look for them). There is the Coati who were not afraid of people and would come into public areas Ė please donít feed them. There is also something that looks like a big rat but has jackrabbit legs and no tail but we only saw them behind our building and they stayed away from people. I rate the grounds 3 stars.


PROS: Smaller hotel so it is easier to get to know people and we became friendly with other guests as well as the staff. The close proximity to Playa Del Carmen was very convenient and the main reason we chose the Lupita. Most of the guests were not from Canada and it was very interesting to be surrounded by so many other cultures (they do speak English here but not as much as other resorts). The price is much more affordable than other resorts and I feel we got a good value for our money.


CONS: If you want a luxurious place then this isnít it as the Lupita is more fun than upscale.


OTHER (details for people who book package deals Ė not used in deciding the overall rating): We booked with Sunquest but our flight was with Air Transat and the food sucked but the service was great. Flight was 5-6 hours direct. Transportation to and from was part of the package and was on a large tour bus with bathroom facilities. Corona beer was served on the way to the resort for $2USD or $3Cdn. We were the first stop for the bus and the only guests to get off.


OVERALL: We will likely return as my impression of the hotel is favourable. Please contact me if you would like more information or clarity of our stay at the Riu Lupita.

 
asturgeon

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 40
Review Date: Thu May 20, 2010 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: $997.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Staff,
Cons: location, Animation team

Just back from our second trip to the RIU Lupita and I must tell you its an excellent resort. It has a couple of things negitive but not anything worth worring about. It's not directly on the beach and the food selection isnt as good as the other RIU Resorts in the area. The staff at this resort are flawless and go well out of there way to serve. If anyone says they water down the drinks they are sadly mistaking as we found they were made perfect.


Our room (1215)was located on the ground floor overlooking the wonderful golf course it was quite and no problems with air conditioning or bugs. In room bar was stalked upon request or about every 2nd day. The beach has been redone and its again the one of the best beaches I have been too in the world. Playa was again very safe and a lot of fun even in the late night early morning hours.


This was my sons first trip and he loved it and is planning to return asap. If your planning a trip to the RIU LUPITA just go and I assure you a wonderful time.

 
keith5919
Riu Ambassador

Registered: September 2005
Posts: 2236
Review Date: Mon June 14, 2010 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Trip Report Ė Riu Lupita, May 29 Ė June 5, 2010


We had already scoped out the Lupita while staying at the Tequila in April, so I knew which buildings I would request for our May trip.


RESORT LAYOUT: The Lupita is quite small and laid out in a large circle, with everything nearby. The lobby, theater, bar, towel hut & restaurants are all next to each other at the entrance to the resort, near the main pool. Our group had four rooms, one in Bldg. 29, ours and another couple in Bldg. 27 (our room was 2720) and one in Bldg. 26.


POOLS: There are three pools, but never saw anyone, except for adults, in the childrenís pool, which was right across from our building. I spent one afternoon at the quiet pool, which is behind Bldg. 29 and right in front of the disco. The pools were very hot during our stay and not refreshing at all (others in our party went into the main pool during our last day and said it was very warm).


BEACH: The beach club, reachable from the Lupita by their bus, which leaves the resort on the half hour, was never crowded. The beach in front of the club was great, and in fact, much better than in front of the Yucatan/RPM, because there was no shelf in the water. The bus leaves the club on the quarter hour. The bus does not run between 1 & 2 p.m. The bus also stops at the entrance to PDC, which we did one day. Itís only a five minute walk to 5th Avenue from the bus stop.


ROOMS: The rooms are very basic, but clean. The bathrooms are very small (reminded me somewhat of the Riu Merengueís). The a/c units are in-wall and ours was controllable by remote. All rooms look toward the back of the resort with jungle views Ė none look toward the middle of the resort. We had towel art every day and our room was always cleaned very early. Our bar was refilled every other day, but if you asked for something it was brought immediately.


RESTAURANTS: We only ate at the buffet, which was sufficient. The selection was quite a bit smaller than other Rius weíve been to, but was good. The restaurant is open air, but with the ceiling fans going we were never too warm. One thing I noticed was service was lacking. Every meal was pretty much self-serve. Of our seven mornings only one day did a server bring a coffee carafe to the table. Other days we had to serve ourselves.


BAR: Thereís only one bar at the Lupita, but it was never busy during our stay. Itís very casual, with no top shelf alcohol available. The service was quick. Before dinner they did have limited waiter service. The beach club also has soft drinks, beer & wine on tap. They also had pina colada & margarita mix, but no hard alcohol (you could bring it from your room though).


OVERALL: We all had a great time and we got to know the Lupita Director, Elena quite well. The resort is very basic and in many respects is not quite like other Rius, but I would return if the price was right. We did eat a few meals at other Rius, which kept the trip more interesting. We also did a ďRainbow Riu Bar TourĒ one day.

 
keith5919
Riu Ambassador

Registered: September 2005
Posts: 2236
Review Date: Mon September 12, 2011 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: $650.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Staff
Cons: Not on Beach

Trip Report for 15 people in 10 rooms Sept. 3 - 10:


We arrived at 2 p.m. on September 3rd. Reception had set up a table in the lobby with envelopes for all of us. We had emailed Gerardo before the trip with our room requests, which were all honored. Nine of the ten rooms were ready. The 10th was ready within 15 minutes. My room was 1131, which overlooks a small lake in the golf course.


I already knew the Lupita sub-director, Gerardo, but didn't know the director, Julien, until this trip. He's originally from France and is very friendly and efficient. All the staff were VERY efficient and went out of their way for our group.


The safes now have a $3 per day fee and the liquor dispensers have been removed from all rooms. Some of the dispenser cases have been reinstalled (my room had one) because the liquor will be back in by November 1, according to Julien. I didn't ask, but I assume the safes will be free then also.


We all received calls from reception every other day, inquiring about our rooms, etc. We were also approached at the bar several times (what we needed for our fridges, if anything) and at the dinner buffet. I did learn, this trip, the Lupita does have some top shelf alcohol.


I would definitely recommend this hotel, mostly because of the excellent service.

 
bryanb

Registered: July 2007
Posts: 315
Review Date: Thu May 3, 2012 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Small resort that's good for people with mobility issues
Cons: Off the beach

Riu Lupita, Playa Del Carmen, Mexico
April 19 - 28, 2012
Bryan, Ottawa, ON


This trip was our first to the Mayan area of Mexico. We were able to book a 9 day package about 4 weeks before departure for a good price (and got the last seats available for the 9 day option). The Riu Lupita is off the beach but does offer a shuttle service that stops near 5th Ave to drop off people and then continues to the Lupitaís beach club (in all itís less than 15 mintues).


Flights
The flights are the only downside of the entire trip. Signature Vacations uses Sunwing Airlines and I have to say I wasnít impressed with the service. I wonít go into details as this is something that we canít pick and choose. They got us there and back safely and thatís what matters. Oh, and the Elite Premium package Ė well worth the cost!


Check In
After the 50 minute bus ride we arrived at the resort. As there were only 5 of us on the bus checking in, it went really fast. We filled out a registration form, and were given our room key, safe key and towel cards. As we arrived close to 11PM the buffet was closed but the snack bar was open.


Room
I had emailed ahead and asked for ground floor in building 18 or 19. We got rooms 1811 and 1812. Both were the same set-up, double beds, dresser, TV, safe, etc. The rooms were clean and ready to go. In addition to the Air Conditioner (which works well), the rooms also have a ceiling fan. Our fan had 2 settings, on or off.


Our housekeeping person was good. The room was clean every day and thatís what matters the most. The only thing was they would turn the AC off everyday so weíd have to turn it back on, but it didnít take long to cool things off again.


Our rooms had a patio that looked back towards the golf course. Very quiet and provided an excellent place to watch wildlife thatíd roam around out there.


Food
As with last years trip to Puerto Vallarta, the food here was delicious! The buffet is a bit smaller than some other Riuís but there never was an issue finding something good to eat. The staff were constantly refilling dishes at the buffet. A couple times we had to wait a minute for something but they were on top of things for sure.


Supper was always a different theme each night at the buffet so that was good. We got reservations for the Mexican restaurant once (we could have booked again but were too lazy). You need to book it the day you want it. There were 2 seatings, 7PM and 9PM. The food at both the buffet and Mexican restaurant was delicious.

Snacks Ė The snack bar is open and stocked between meals and after supper till midnight. We had a few things from the snack bar and never had any issues.

NOTE: Supper at the Buffet: Men can wear shorts but must have a shirt with sleeves but we did see some men in tank tops. For the a-la cartes men are to wear pants.


Bars
There is one main bar and the Disco (at night) plus a mini version at the beach grill. By default they serve the cheap brands, just ask for Bacardi if you want the good rum. The beach grill offers wine, beer, pop, and the frozen drink mix Ė all of it self-serve. If you want liquor for the beach youíll have to fill a small water bottle or walk down to one of the other Riuís for it.

The Beach
We didnít spend much time on the beach. I went down for an afternoon and thought that it was great. It was the white sand, the water was clear and the breeze was refreshing. Loads of loungers around to make use of.

Pools
We made use of the main pool each day of our stay. The pool is a good size and while the towel game is in use, we normally never had an issue getting chairs at around 9AM so we didnít worry.


The resort also has an Adults-only pool next to the in front of the Disco plus a kids only pool in the Kids Club area.

Entertainment
The resort offered live singers each night between supper and the evening show, they did a great job. We did see many of the shows and they were good. The Comedy show put on by the Entertainment crew was funny. We missed a few of the big shows as they werenít on the schedule for our visit.


Activities
The Animation team posted a schedule of activities going on throughout the day at the buffet. Between the 3 of us we took part in the water aerobics, dart tournaments, horse-shoes, bingo, bracelet making, ďCrazy GamesĒ and the Spanish lesson.


Trips
The resort has the shuttle that will drop you off near 5th Avenue, but we opted to taxi it ($7 USD each way). We spent one afternoon on 5th Ave doing some shopping and visiting one of the bars for a drink.


General
Signature Vacations advertises this resort as a 4 Star resort. Iíd say itís about a 3.5 Star.


The gym is located down next to the Riu Yucatan so you either have a 30 minute walk to get there or have to take the shuttle and walk a bit from the drop off point.

Summary
We had a great time and would seriously consider going back if the price stays reasonable (which is really the only reason we havenít been to this part of Mexico before).


If you have any questions, please feel free to email me at bryanjbrown@rogers.com.

 
bryanb

Registered: July 2007
Posts: 315
Review Date: Sun March 3, 2013 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Value, Friendly Staff
Cons: Not directly on beach

Riu Lupita, Playa Del Carmen, Mexico
February 7 Ė 21, 2013
Bryan, Ottawa, ON


This trip was our second to the Riu Lupita. The Riu Lupita is off the beach but does offer a free shuttle service that stops near 5th Ave to drop off people and then continues to the Lupitaís beach club (in all itís less than 15 minutes). Since our last visit in April 2012 they have added a small pool down at the Beach Club as well as full bar service there. In exchange for these new services, access to the other Riu properties has been removed.


Flights
After a less than impressive trip with Sunwing last April I have to say that I was quite pleased with them this year. The crews on both flights were very friendly which is a change for charter airlines. Oh, and the Elite Premium package Ė well worth the cost!


Check In
After the 50 minute shuttle ride, which was just our group, we arrived at the resort. As there were 8 of us checking in, it went really fast. We filled out a registration form, and were given our room key, safe key and towel cards.


Room
I had emailed ahead and asked for ground floor in building 18. We were not able to get rooms in building 18, or even in the same building. Those of us staying for 2 weeks were in buildings 16 and 17. The rest were in 12 and 21. The rooms have the typical set-up, double beds, dresser, TV, safe, etc. The rooms were clean and ready to go. In addition to the Air Conditioner (which works well), the rooms also have a ceiling fan. Our fan had 2 settings, on or off.


Our housekeeping person was good. The room was clean every day and thatís what matters the most. For some reason they flipped the main power switch each day after cleaning, but luckily the AC wasnít tied to it so the room stayed cool.


Our rooms had a patio that looked back towards the golf course. Very quiet and provided an excellent place to watch wildlife thatíd roam around out there.


Food
As with last years trip, the food was delicious! The buffet is a bit smaller than some other Riuís but there never was an issue finding something good to eat. The staff were constantly refilling dishes at the buffet. A couple times we had to wait a minute for something but they were on top of things for sure.


Supper was always a different theme each night at the buffet so that was good. We got reservations for the Mexican restaurant once (we could have booked again but were too lazy). You need to book it the day you want it. There were 2 seatings, 7PM and 9PM. The food at both the buffet and Mexican restaurant was delicious.

Snacks Ė The snack bar is open and stocked between meals and after supper till midnight. We had a few things from the snack bar and never had any issues.


Beach Club Ė We ate lunch a few days at the beach club. Not a big selection but good enough. The one thing that is a negative is that I found the food didnít stay hot, but I suspect itís due to the winds on the beach.

NOTE: Supper at the Buffet: Men can wear shorts but must have a shirt with sleeves but we did see some men in tank tops Ė for some reason no one was turning them away. For the a-la cartes men are to wear pants.


Bars
There is one main bar and the Disco (at night) plus one at the beach club. By default they serve the cheap brands, just ask for Bacardi if you want the good rum. The beach club has been expanded to include full bar service now.


The Beach
We spent 4 days at the beach Ė it would have been more but day trips and self-inflicted injuries prevented us from doing so. It was the white sand, the water was clear and the breeze was refreshing. Loads of loungers around to make use of, though towards the end of the trip they were getting fuller.

Pools
We made use of the main pool each day of our stay. The pool is a good size and while the towel game is in use, we normally never had an issue getting chairs at around 9AM so we didnít worry.


The resort also has an Adults-only pool next to the in front of the Disco plus a kids only pool in the Kids Club area.


They have also added a pool on the beach for Lupita guests to use. Itís not big but it allows you to use both the beach and a pool at the same time.

Entertainment
The resort offered live singers each night between supper and the evening show, they did a great job. We did see many of the shows and they were good. The Mayan show was the best by far Ė it started off slow but then it got quite interesting.


Activities
The Animation team posted a schedule of activities going on throughout the day outside of their control booth. Between us we took part in the dart tournaments, horse-shoes, bingo, bracelet making, and ďCrazy GamesĒ.


Trips
The resort has the shuttle that will drop you off near 5th Avenue Ė itís about a 5 minute walk from the drop off. If youíd rather taxi it, itís $7 USD each way. We spent a couple afternoons on 5th Ave doing some shopping and visiting one of the bars for a drink.


We also did a trip to Cozumel for an afternoon. The ferry was $13USD each way per person.


General
Signature Vacations advertises this resort as a 4 Star resort. Iíd say itís about a 3.5 Star.


Summary
We had another great time. All the staff were friendly and those who spoke English would often stop and chat with us. As mentioned above, the Lupita guests no longer have exchange privileges with the other Riuís and in fact are not even able to walk through their properties Ė which is wierd.


If you have any questions, please feel free to email me at bryanjbrown@rogers.com.

 


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2003 All Enthusiast, Inc.

New Page 1




Locations of visitors to this page

Riu Quoting System
FULL SCREEN BOOKING

(CLICK HERE)

Our New Affiliate Bookings


<