New Page 1




Reviews Views Date of last review
17 23534 Fri March 20, 2009
Recommended By Ave price per week Average Rating
100% of reviewers $1,200.00 8.9
mambo.jpg

mambo4.jpg mambo5.jpg mambo6.jpg

Description: ClubHotel Riu Mambo
Bahia de Maimón
Puerto Plata
Dominican Republic
Tel. +18093201212 Fax. +1 809 320 1118
E-Mail: clubhotel.mambo@riu.com




Location/General information

Located on beautiful Maimon Bay, Riu Mambo offers a breathtaking view of the ocean and the Puerto Plata mountains.
This amazing hotel features 463 tastefully appointed guestrooms, equipped with special amenities such as a mini-bar and liquor dispenser, tantalising dining options and fun-filled entertainment that includes several sports activities, live music, Riu theme shows and an exciting casino. This impressive offer is made even more attractive by the remarkable exchange privileges with Riu's two sister properties in the Puerto Plata Riu Resort.
Prepare yourself for a truly memorable, entertaining All-Inclusive holiday at one of Caribbean’s most romantic seaside settings.



* Located on the beach in Maimon Bay
* Complimentary sun loungers on the beach
* In the Riu Resort, along with the ClubHotels Riu Bachata and Riu Merengue
* Main building, 2-storey annex and 1-storey bungalow area
* Surrounded by 30,000 m2 / 36,000 sq. yards of tropical gardens

* 9 km / 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata
* 300 m / 990 ft. from Caribbean Street
* 25 km / 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata Int’l. Airport
* 500 m / 1650 ft. from a bus stop
* Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners



More Riu Mambo Information






SARAHSMILE

Registered: February 2006
Posts: 53
Review Date: Wed July 19, 2006 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Beautiful grounds, hard working staff, something for everyone
Cons: None really, its just a shame about the tummy bug epidemic.

This resort is by English standards a 4 star resort.


There are 3 hotels in one large resort and they are side by side. The Mambo, The Merengue (in the middle) and The Bachata.
Guests can use facilities at all 3, except for dinner which must be taken in your own hotel.


The annimation team are fantastic and the RIU song that they sing regularly is very catchy... I now have it on CD in my car. How sad!
They will however leave you alone if you don't want to join in, they are not pushy.


The Mambo beach is best for swimming but guests can walk the length of the resort and use the other beaches, they all run into one anyway.


The Mambo pools are clean and very pretty, with plenty of shade, but we preferred the beach. The mambo is the only hotel with a beach bar, although it only stocks beer and rum. If you want a cocktail you only have to walk a short way to the bar in the poolside restaurant.


The variety of food is amazing and the quality is very good too, you could eaily come home a stone heavier!
You can book the poolside restaurant in the evenings as they split it into two, one side being Meditteranean, and the other side a steak restaurant. You are waited on by the waiters and the ambience is lovely with the pool all lit up and candles on the tables. The menu is however slightly limited, although they did cater for my children by cooking them plain steak and chips as a special request.
If you want alot of variety, eat in the main restaurant.


The accommodation was clean and well maintained. We had a problem with a dripping tap that it took them about 4 days to fix, but that wasn't through lack of trying!
I left a tip for the maid on many days, but this is not expected and certainly doesn't affect the standards of cleanliness in your room.
Every room had a rum bar and a fridge with beer, cokes, and water etc... all included. They never allow the rum to run dry.
There is air conditioning and a fan in all rooms.
We had requested a pool view on the upper floor, but didn't get that when we arrived.
My husband went to reception and the manager took us to another room to see if we preferred it, apologising for not honouring our request. We moved straight away, and our new room was everything we wanted.
I even heard of a family who were not getting any sleep because one of their party kept them awake snoring!
The staff at reception moved them into one of the larger suites, at no extra charge..


The grounds are well maintained and stunning. The groundmen work very hard keeping it all neat and tidy.


This is a tropical island so take precautions for mosquito bites and some immodium just incase of a tummy upset.
All their fruit is washed in bottled water, and ice is bottled water too, they are very stringent with hygiene and all areas are very clean.


The evening entertainment was typically Dominican. We have stayed at other 4 star resorts in the DR before, and this entertainment was much the same.
Expect a Michael Jackson night, and a Grease night along with the usual audience participation evenings.
We rotated between the 3 hotels just for a change for the entertainment, and often caught the same show twice, but we didn't mind.
Just chill out and enjoy the atmosphere.


There is a nightclub between the Mambo and Merengue which was like a fridge inside, but very lively none the less.


There is a step aerobics class every evening and also pool and beach aerobics daily.
The animation team organise regular volleyball, football and othet activities.
There is a gym in the centre of the resort in an area called Carribbean Street which also has some shops, and a street party every week.


The resort was pretty busy while we were there over Easter.
Unfortunately many people were putting towels out early in the mornings around the pool, which was rather infuriating.
The Germans have a reputaion for doing this and certainly seemed to live up to their reputation, as there were many Germans there the second week. Hence our departure to the beach where there was a wider choice of places to sit and plenty of shade.


There is a kids club in each hotel, and this seemed to be popular with the little ones.
My children who are 10 and 12 years made friends with other children and I felt totally at ease with letting them roam around, as there is good security in this resort.
One word of warning though, the actual beach itself appears to be public. On Easter Sunday alot of Dominicans came to the beach, but stayed on the beach itself and didnt venture further back where the sunbeds and palm trees are.
One Domincan man pulled a sunbed out and sat on it, and the security staff very quickly told him off. An argument ensued, (which was fascinating to watch), and then more security guards were called and two arrived carrying guns!
The women in the Dominican party got quite agitated, and I thought things were going to get nasty, but in true Dominican style the security guards ended up laughing and joking with the offending party and patting each other and hugging.
The security guards sat there for the rest of the evening and into the night, with one sitting on a chair one side of the small river that separates the Mambo from the outside of the resort, with a gun on his lap, all the while talking to one of the Dominicans who had seated himself on the other side of the river!
I had to laugh.


Now for the bad press regarding the tummy bug that seems to have been reoccuring at regular intervals at all 3 hotels.
I can honestly say that I saw nothing to give me any clue as to what may be causing it.
We had no problems at all while we were there and heard of nobody else who was ill.
There are always maids on duty outside the public toilets who spray your hands with sanitizer when you leave the bathroom, and also before you enter the restaurants.
I can only think that some people may have refused the sanitizer, or didn't wash their hands after using the loos and then caught the bug from the handles in the bathrooms.
I really think, that if you are going to an underdeveloped tropical country like the DR, that it is up to the individual to reduce their risk of getting sick by being stringent with hand hygiene, and not drinking any water other than bottled water. The resort certainly encourages this, and I truly pity them for the bad press they have received as a result of the illness.
They work so hard, and this resort certainly knocked spots off the other two hotels we had stayed at in recent years.... The Sirenis Cocotel Beach and The LTI Sol de Plata.


I would expect Thompsons and other tour operators who sell holidays at this resort to be honest and open with new customers about the illness that has been there. I am not hearing that this has been the case though!
Customers who are worried should have the option to cancel or change their holiday and also be in receipt of all the true facts!
Maybe it would be wise to close the resort for a week or two to eradicate this bug entirely?


Having said all that I would recommend the Mambo, just be sure to be careful and wash your hands as much as possible and take sensible precautions.
We would return at the drop of a hat! :-)

 
liz

Registered: September 2005
Posts: 176
Review Date: Fri August 18, 2006 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I can say that this was a fantastice holiday, from the minute we got on the plane. The flight was all on time with no problems. We collected our luggage and got through secirity all in about half an hour. The coach was waiting, nice and cool! We made our way to the hotel, ours was the first stop, we got so excited when we saw the lobby again! We got welcomed and our room key was given. We were quite a way from the pool and as my friend can't walk very far i went and asked if we could move to one closer, within 5 minutes we were move to room 309, two minutes away from the pool.
The animation team was amazing as usual, they recognised us and sat with us, welcomed us back. The hotel was so clean, with maids stamding outside the restaurant and all the toilets with hand gel. We didnt' have sickness or anything all week. The food was lovely, great variety all the time. The shows that were put on were different, greese, african show, and the carribean street party was amazing!
I can honestly say it was the best holiday! definatley booked again for next year!

 
budge
Official Riu Bambuer

Registered: August 2006
Posts: 1534
Review Date: Mon October 2, 2006 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Don't need to spend any money. Staff.
Cons: Kids club.

Flight:- We flew from Doncaster and were 1 hour late taking off, but from me looking previous weeks this seems to be a regualar occurance. Flight was uneventful and we were there in 9 hours. (Why is the food always horrible though)


Transfer:- The transfer from the airprt to the Riu Mambo was smooth and went without a hitch. we ahd an extra drop off because a family was told to get on our bus and when they found out that was wrong there bus had already left. (I didn't mind because it was the hotel I went to a few years back)


Check In:- All the keys were in envelopes ready for us with everything we needed. Had to ask for more labels for our cases though and to ask where the block was. The person we asked though wasn't much help and we ended up getting there after our cases. In future maybe they should mark the block your in to make it simpler. Got to the room and were happy to discover we were on the ground floor and we had 2 rooms side by side.


Room:- We were in room 2002 and my Mum and Dad in room 2001. The room was very nice and never had any sighting of any creepy crawlies in it. Air conditioning was excellant, in fact it made you think it was going to be cooler outside, Oh how I wish. One night we even had to turn it off because we got too cold. Because there was 3 of us in our room they brought in an extra bed. This was very soft and I'm sure it was broke in the middle. You only had to sit on it and you sank and went flying into the window, it was fun though and for what it was used for it did the trick. The cleaners were an asset, they always left the room spotless and left us a different towel art everyday. This is typical of a carribean country though but it makes you feel special and my nieces eyes lit up every time. The mini bar was also fantastic but we ended up falling out over coke, I wanted it for the rum my niece wanted it to drink, so I ended up with beer. What a sacrifice to make. HE HE HE


Food:- The food was excellant, it was the best I've ever had staying in an all inclusive hotel. We were always made to put gel on our hands before entering and the staff were always going round cleaning and tidying. There was only one night when I was disspaointed with the menu but I still found something to eat.


Staff:- The staff were excellant, always a smile on there face and a song in their heart. Although I did prefer the animacion staff, I think it was because we saw them the most. A big helo to Mini, Bossy Boots, Hula Hula, Dj Lemar, Cappacino, Boo Boo, Chakalacka and everyone else who I might have missed. They were excellant and the African show is one not to be missed. The staff were always coming round through out the day trying to get you to join in games. How seriousley do some people take these, we ended up not partaking because the same couple always took part who won and if they did lose which did happen once they moaned and accused them of cheating. Everyone it's a holiday relax and join in the fun.


Shows:- We went to the shows everynight which were a mix of audience participation, dancing and fun. My favourite shows were the Frican and Grease. I would happily sit and watch these over and over. The dancers who cam ewere also very good and how they managed to carry on when they were so hot is beyond me. They used to finish and their clothes would be stuck to them. Also nearly everyday they did a different party on the beach these were full of dancing and games.


Kids Club:- This was a bit dissapointing. Being the typical English we only speak English and this was run by a German company, so nearly all the entertainment resolved around German songs. The children were mostly left to there own devices and could wander in and out when ever they wanted. My sister would have appreciated it more if it was a bit more secure and for her to bring my niece out. Luckily we sunbathed near the club so my niece didn't have to wander round the pool herself.


Sunbathing:- We always sunbathed round the pool so that we could keep an eye on my niece. The main pool was really good and I really liked the ramp to get in it. It was always clean and very warm. The only downfall was they decided to paint the outside we were there so it was out of commision and then it was out longer because one night some people decided to walk where the wet paint was, so they had to go round and repaint bits. In total it was unuseable for about 3 days, which meant the other pool got really crowded and when the games were happening it wasn't really usuable.
Weather:- The weather was very hot. We had a horrendous downpour one night which lasted about 20 minutes, a shower one afternoon and then another 5 minute downpour on the night of the carribean street party, which meant it ended up being taken inside the Riu Bachatta. This is the only time I went inside one of the other hotels and am glad we were in the mambo.


Location:- For what I went for the location was excellant. I wasn't bothered about going out walking and the furthest I went was to Carribean street and that was only to get a few presents and the show.


I am now home and missing this hotel very much and I'm not the only one. My niece yesterday said that her and I are going back and going to live in the Mambo forever. If I had the chance I would jump at the chance.


Would I go back, yes definitly maybe in a couple of years if it all pans out. At the moment we are looking to go somewhere else and hopefully stop in another Riu resort.


Would I reccomend this hotel to thers most definitly. This was one of the best places I've ever been and I've been to a good few. I fell in love with this place and people and really realy want to go back.


I WANT I WANT TO GO BACK TO RIU.
I REALLY WANT I WANT TO GO BACK TO RIU
I WANT TO GO BACK TO RIU

 
curtqed007

Registered: October 2006
Posts: 9
Review Date: Sun October 8, 2006 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very friendly,excellent entertainment, food-yum yum
Cons: none

stayed at the bachata once been to the mambo twice , going to the mambo again in six weeks.doesn`t that say it all!! can`t wait, counting down the days

 
aso206cc

Registered: October 2006
Posts: 11
Review Date: Sat October 28, 2006 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: All of it totally brilliant
Cons: none what so ever

Came back last monday, the resort is totally spotless and well looked after. The rooms are clean and the mini bar is stocked up every 2 days, however there was times we ran out of drink and the reception were more than happy to send up more. The pool is clean and the entertainment is brilliant in the evening total laugh non stop. The animation team - mini, bossy boots, chakalaka, cappucinio to name a few were brilliant and work so hard to make u feel welcome, special, and involved they do not pressurise u at all to get involved. I am definitly going back in march best relaxing holiday ever

 
mambo-bad-girl
Riu Ambassador

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 1292
Review Date: Sun November 26, 2006 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: everything!! especially the staff
Cons: you have to go home again!!!

i've just come back from another fantastic holiday at Riu mambo we went for 2 weeks on the 9th october and had an even better time than the last ones (we also went in April of this year and october 2005)!


you just can't fault the holiday in any way it's so clean, friendly, value for money, the foods good the cocktails are great (especially the 'James Bond Special' but beware he makes them strong) the private beach and security around the hotel makes it a safe enviroment and it gets better evey time we go back!


what really makes this holiday is the people, the staff are so friendly they laugh and joke with you, are always singing dancing and smiling, they even give you free spanish lessons! nothing is too much trouble for them and considering they work 12 hours a day, 6 days a week for only about £120 a month they put us all to shame!!


the animation team are fantastic Cappichino, Happy Boy, La BoBo, Dj Lemar, Chakalaka, Bossy Boots(and believe me she is!!) Mini,Charlie and Hula Hula really give it their all, ALL DAY there is always plenty to do but be warned if you join in something you be called on to do everything else
Wakey wakey no sleepy sleepy!! Attack!! is all you hear around the pool!!
then they're back for more in the evenings with even more sillyness and dancing!


the entertainment is ok you can have a laugh at it but don't expect too much there is a lot of dancing and tribute acts so we tended to sit at the bar in the evenings and talk with the staff they all soon get to know your name and what you drink and after 2-3 days you don't even need to ask for another one it just appears when your glass gets low!! fab or what!! our favorate bar staff were Lisandro, Simon, Melo(my spanish teacher),Nino, Henry, Diaz(the beach Bar), Marino, Judith, Ruben and not forgetting the wonderful 'James Bond'! (he makes the best sex on the beach too!)


we ventured out with some of the bar staff after hours to some of the local bars/night clubs they're not up to much but it was good to be able to share a drink or two with them as we really class them as friends now. we did go to one nightclub called mangu that was good it played reggaeton but the taxis to get there aren't cheap we went at 12.30 and came back at 5am and it cost 100 dollars!


the only thing that might slightly let the place down is at the weekends when the locals come they are very loud, rude and can be quite intimidating sometimes when there is a large group of them, but even that doesn't put me off coming back. the only thing i'd say is check with your travel agents before you book that it's not a bank/school holiday that way at least you know they'll be going home again on the sunday!


we're already looking into booking our next holiday for april!!!


I WANT, IWANT TO GO TO RIU!!!!!

 
2dogslong

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 7
Review Date: Wed December 6, 2006 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: 3 resorts in one. Lots of options.
Cons: Mauled by a beach vendor, porter demanded a tip for lifting lugage on to bus at Mambo on way to airport -> neither are Mambo staff

The rooms were clean, the staff were friendly, the food was as expected at a resort, the entertainment was fine... all of the pieces were there to have a good holiday - just add 'you'. Reading the reviews, the people who get to know the staff socially seem to be the ones who give the glowing reviews. I tend to keep to myself - I do the aerobics but I found that other activities like the horseshoes and bocce ball had expert players who won every day and no one really wanted someone who had never played on a team. You would sometimes hear guests complaining about their teams later at the bar.


I guess it is worth making the effort to be a little more social.


It is a really nice resort. I would return to a RIU without hesitation if the RIU Mambo is any indication of the quality of the RIU chain. Best resort I have stayed at yet.


The best part of the Mambo is that you can use the pools, bars, or restaurants at the Merengue or Bachata. If someone is annoying in your area, you can leave. If you don't like the entertainment, you can check the other resorts. The beach spans the three resorts so there is a lot of space. It is a great lay-out.

 
JoLee
Official Riu Bambuer

Registered: October 2005
Posts: 1907
Review Date: Sat December 30, 2006 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Stay at 1 play at 3. Best Beach,Close to Town.
Cons: None: after 2 trips to Mambo

Dec.7 to Dec.21 2006 for 2 weeks.
This was our 2nd time to Mambo..Just as good as last Dec.


Rooms: We requested and Got room in Bldg.#3,close to the Lobby and across from pool. Nice double beds,Free Bar in room,clean and lots of Towel arts .Patio with chairs, good air cond. and fan.


Reception: Check in went fast. You are given envelope with Room key(2nd on on request) towel cards and key to FREE safety box. Victor and Margareta will do everything to help you with a smile.


Buffet :was still open at 9.30pm. and for 2 weeks we found lots of choices. Loved the Ice Cream. We ate at all 3 Rius-food is the same. We didn't bother with the speciality resturants.


TV:poor reception.No English, so after 3 days we asked for repair. Man said trouble was new cable supplier and wiggled cable cord- NO help there!!! Finally we requested another room and this did the JOB. they replaced TV with a NEW one,fixed the connection wire with proper connector .Would not have bothered if we stayed only one week, and Maybe Hotel knows this. LOL


Animation & Entertainment: Was very good, they changed a little on stage in a years time. We enjoyed the RIU theme shows with the dancers and good costumes. Aires(Julu Julu)the boss does a great job with the African show. and We enjoyed Magic and Fire variety shows.
Participated in the activities and won lots of Rum and Coffee. Nice..


Bartenders: are fantastic.they will make you anything!! a little tip here and there helps for sure. Diaz and Manuel are my favorite and Wilson at Beach Bar.


Peso: Desk rate is Good. $32USA and $26 Canadian. We used the Bank Machine-located just inside the Main RIU gate. You go inside and close door. We had no trouble getting pesos using our bank card. The Desk will give you smaller bills on request.


Pools: are NOT heated. I fould temp.fine ,not like last Dec. when they were so cold. It might have something to do with amount of rain.
We had only one evening of rain at dinner time and maybe 2 short rains in late night. It poured the day of departure in late afternoon,but stopped as we got to airport at 6p.m. Streets of Pt.Plata were flooding, it was sure something to see young boys pushing cars out of flooded holes-up to their knees in water.


Gifts: Take gifts for the Children(anything is good) .You can drop off at Bachatas Gift shop "Mangulinas" in the Caribbean Street. I took 2 bags of plastic baby bottels/kids and baby clothes and school stuff. Mark your pkgs. with your name and room number on paper to :Fundation Patria.


Beach: is the best at the Mambo, it also has a beach bar. You can walk all the way to Bachata, then on to the Sports Beach.


Shops: by locals are on the end of beach and I found Vanilla in Mambo Lobby shop at a better price even after barganing with the locals. Get some, $120 peso for 32 oz. Makes a good Gift.


We noticed hardly any Weekend Local people with wrist bands this year. Word is out ,that RIU has made the price TOO high for most locals.


We saw lots of people who were there last year, so repeat guest at Mambo!!!. This Tell you something. We are thinking of returning again Next Year!!!!
GO- you will LOVE the Riu's!!!!!!!!

 
Allycat

Registered: November 2006
Posts: 37
Review Date: Mon January 8, 2007 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: $1,200.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: beach, bar and serving and animation staff
Cons: getting off the resort other than tours

Alrighty so this was my first trip to a Riu resort and also my first trip to D.R. Might I add that I really hope I can go again soon!



Our group consisted of 3 20something couples and then four of us non-couples. A good mix of friends and their partners. We were heading down to have one last hurrah together as we have now graduated and will all be going our separate ways.


We were leaving from Vancouver and some of us had a bit of a drive to reach the city. My roomie and I left about 2 in the afternoon and of course the main road was closed due to ice and snow and thus we had to back-track and take a different highway...such is life.



The plane:


We arrived at the airport a bit late and thus my roomie and I couldn't get seats together. No big deal, although a nice lady did offer to switch with us so in the end we did get to sit together which was nice to chat and get excited. Being the type of person who drinks a lot of water I could have done with a few more drink services but overall the plane was o.k. It left on time, arrived on time (after a stop in Calgary booo) we arrived in P.P to be welcomed by the hot humid (and lovely to us from the interior where it was cold and snowy) air as soon as we got off the plane. All luggage arrived quickly and we easily found the bus.


The trip to the resort was longer than we expected but a lot of that is due to the fact that they are doing major work on the roads. Our bus did haul a** though as we were passing like crazy, and almost seemed to hit the guys on the bikes, however we never did.


Arrived at the resort and checked out our rooms. Seemed nice and then headed down to catch dinner as we were all starving. Was a bit of slim pickings but we enjoyed it and all got started right away on the cervesas


The rest of the night was a bit of a blur really but I remember watching part of the show and then heading to the disco to dance the night away (oh the shame )


The Room:


We were given 0502 which was pretty far down the stretch. Next time I would get something a little closer. I managed to catch the mini bar guy on the first day we were there and slipped him a fiver and asked that we get extra water, tonic and diet pepsi. Well we always had 3 jugs of water and as much of the other stuff as we could handle.


We left 2 US for our maid every day and I really think that it made the difference as our room was always spic and span, new towel art every day, everything really well done. The service across the rooms of our group did very as one room in our party did seem to get the shaft a bit (despite leaving money) but they are two males so didn't really care that much.


Otherwise we found the rooms tidy, beds comfortable (I think...I was generally very tipsy by this point) and overalll we were quite satisfied.


Food:


We found the food pretty good. It was a bit Americanized for our group but I guess thats to be expected. I generally had croissants and coffee for breckie as I found a lot of the other stuff a bit greasy (omlettes very good!) And being an early riser I generallly had a couple of coffees on the beach before my group would roll in. That was lovely, sitting out there enjoying the waves roll in.


We generally had lunch at the Mambo at what we named "The Liquor store" that being the place by the pool which turns into the a la carte at night. We called it this as it was so close to the rooms and the pool etc.
I would have liked a bit more choice as far as salads etc but lunch was good. We also had lunch at the Bachata and enjoyed it as well.


Dinner: we ate in the la carte 3 times I believe as we enjoyed the food there over the buffet. We got to know the service staff there quite well and the assistant guy named Alonzo was our favourite by far. He was very funny and really tried to interact and joke with our group. The Head waiter Salvadore was very patient considering our reservation for 4 turned into 9! I had the fish twice and a steak once and enjoyed all three meals.


Drinks:


Well of course, being a recently graduated university group, we were there for the drinks. The males in the group generally stuck to the cervesas and ventured into the fruity stuff and the cupa libras once in a while. I personally balanced my g&t's with the fruity slushes with extra rum, with mostly beer in the day. We enjoyed the beer. The wine however we generally stayed away from as we found it too sweet for our liking. My roommate and I went through about 3/4 of one of the dark rums in the room and 1/2 gin as well athough a couple of the guys in our party polished off their rums easily and moved on to re-fills.


We did use our travel mugs in the swim pool but didn't generally use them as we drank the small cups fast enough (ie before they got warm)


Trips:
The first trip we did was the 2-3 hour snorkeling trip which is available at the water sports beach. We paid $25 US and were taken for about half an hour out in the ocean arriving at a spot where we were given masks and fins and that and off we went. The equiptment could have been better quality (a couple in our group had issues) but I personally had never snorkelled before and enjoyed swimming around looking at the fish and that. Swam through some little jellyfish which I found a little weird as this stung but it didn't really hurt.
Went to a little private beach for some pictures and that which was bit touristy and were a little late starting back due to motor problems. I love being on the water so I enjoyed the wavey ride back but there were a couple who were a bit sea sick (More likely because of too much rum the night before) Drank so rum on the trip back.


We decided it was pretty good value as it got us off the resort, we saw some beautiful countryside and some lovely waters.


Second Trip: The Horseback Riding:


This was very cool for me as a friend from was staying at a resort just down the road and thus we figured we had to meet up and becuase we both have horses we decided to book the riding. Well she booked through her hotel as it turned out to be much cheaper and we had a wonderful afternoon!! Being horse people we are very picky about the horses, but I am happy to report that these were in excellent condition! The horses were all well trained and pleasant, and when I lady running saw that she had people in her group that could ride she split us into two groups and and took our group ahead for some faster riding. Very good time. We (the lady leading the centre) got talking and she mentioned how she wanted to retire soon and even suggested that I should stay in D.R and take over her job! I was flattered of course but some how I decided that the 5.5 years of education I just finished should be utilized a little bit..I did tell her you never know though as I was def falling in love with the D.R!! Anyways, good value for the money, excellent transportation to the ranch, lovely horses....great!!! We climbed up the mountainside on the horses and when we reached the top the views of the ocean and city...!!


Third Trip: Monster Truck;


This trip was o.k for me...I liked some of it, but didn't like other aspects. We were picked up from the hotel at 8:00am I believe and were taken by a bus to the place where the trucks are stored. We then waited around for about an hour and half while more people were brought in..This part was not good as the one bathroom that was there was clogged...not good but such is life...When we finally got on the truck they try to tell you Monster truck hats which they say some of the money goes back to the schools etc. We drove through some parts of the city and by some sugar care which was neat however, if you wear contact lenses DO NOT DO THIS TRIP WITHOUT SUNGLASSES!!! I had to borrow my friends and she went without as my eyes were hurting so bad from the dust.


We were taken out in the country which was nice and saw a little cheese factory which honestly didn't look like it was actually used (the stuff was extra dusty and didn't look like it had moved etc) saw coffee leaves, and spices etc. I was a bit dissapointed with the stop at the school house as the kids pretty much ignored us and didn't really want the stuff we had brought. I can imagine that with 5 monster trucks of people rolling in all the time the kids would get a bit annoyed with it all. We then visited a house where a family lived and then headed on to lunch. Lunch was at a freshwater beach. More drinks, food was o.k...no fish however the lamb was really good. After a rest at this beach we headed back to the truck and crossed some rivers which was fun. Our pleasant guide Jesus then told us we were approaching the poorest parts on our trip so we had the hotel soaps and stuff ready for the kids along with pencils and pens and stuff ready that we had brought. Wish we had more to give as there were so many children. We did have one incident where a child was asking for money from someone and threw a rock which hit her when she didn't give money. These things happen though.
Finished off at a store where you could buy rum etc and then the truck drove us back to the hhotel...These things go pretty fast let me tell you!


Shows:


We saw the magic show, the african dance show, the traditional dance show, and another dance show. We missed the audience participation one which we were sad about (it was a couples show thing) as we have some of us in our group that love that sort of thing, however we did manage to make it to the lurvers beach party that was held after. Happy boy and I think it was chocolate did a hilarious dance to Time of my life from Dirty Dancing complete with lifts was great. Anyway, danced the night away with the animation team.
Overall we were happy with the shows although somehow managed to get a week which was pretty much all dance shows. We really wanted to see the Michael Jackson show but it wasn't on at any of the hotels while we were there. We really enjoyed the magician and caught the second half of his show at the Merengue and even watched him again at the Mambo to see the whole show.


Other stuff:


Shanty town by the sports beach:
I visited this place a couple of times as I went for a massage there nearly every day. For the 15US I paid for 45min it was well worth it. She was so happy to see me coming back she gave me extra time which was great. I very much recommend. Right hand row near the end. I didn't buy much on this side as I found the ppl to pushy, and once they found out I liked to bargain more than others they seemed to be more pushy.


Shanty town by the Mambo:
I bought my cigars and rum from "Almost free Jonathan" he was great. We really pushed him as we were buying the most expensive cigars he had and some other stuff and even managed to pay with Canadian and get US back. We got talking and he even offered to get me some "special stuff for good price" which upon return at a later date turns out was drugs which I figured...I'm not in to that stuff at all so I graciously declined.
His shop is the one right at the start on the corner.
I also recommend walking to the end of the rows as these guys are very desperate to make sales as a lot of the time customers don't make it down that far.


Water Sports beach:
I myself didnt take out any of the kayaks etc but people in my party did and paddled over to the other side of the bay to look around. My roommate and I rented a seado (spelling?) which was awesome! We took turns driving and had a blast. They should give you goggles or something as the water sprays up in your face and the salt gets to your eyes a bit. It was a bit windy out so lots of waves to jump the sea do off and me being a speed demon had lots of fun really gunning it. The shanty guys had asked me when we were leaving if I would go fast and when I said yes very fast they laughted. However upon return they did say "You go fast yes!" which made me laugh.


Will add more later,


but overall, I loved my trip and hope to return some day!!

 
beachbaby

Registered: August 2007
Posts: 46
Review Date: Mon January 14, 2008 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: $1,200.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: excellent service, loved the lay-out of the complex, very good food
Cons: very hard uncomfortable beds (only complaint we had)

We had a wonderful vacation at the "Riu Mambo" from 22 Dec/07 to 05 Jan/08.
I was a bit worried when we were the only two guests to be dropped off at this resort from everyone on our plane...I thought to myself "Uh oh, did I pick the wrong place?" Check-in was friendly and fast.
We were pleased with the room. Upper floor in bldg. 18 - just about middle of the grounds. Rooms may be a bit on the small side but everything worked just fine (yes, the air conditioner too) Very clean, lots of drawer space & hangers. Loved the "free" safe. I think all AI resorts should offer this feature.
Now...to our only complaint...the beds...IMO they are the worse beds we have encountered in over 10 trips south. I'm not kidding...very hard mattress and some kind of rubber sheeting. We came across other guests with the same complaint. I cannot understand the previous reviewers' comment that they found the beds comfortable...unless they are beginning to replace some of the old ones? However, we did not let a 'bad bed' dictate the rest of our holiday...
The Riu has very beautiful grounds. The complex is full of birds, lizards, plants & flowers. We really enjoyed wandering around birdwatching. Lots of butterflies also. So it a great place for a 'nature-nut' like myself. I think most of my pics are of plants rather than people, lol.
Thought the food was above average...very good in fact. Lots of meat choices, one of the best salad bars we've seen. Only thing lacking in this area was the bread selection wasn't that varied and there really is no 'pasta station' with its own pasta cook. Just a few different pans of pasta with sauce you would spoon on yourself. No big deal. Even a picky eater would be hard pressed not to find a tasty meal the the Riu Mambo.
We loved strolling on the patiostone walkways. Uusually we lunched at the Bachata everyday...Wow! what a view of the mountains from the Bachata pool! Amazing.
We did not catch many of the shows in the evening. Saw a very good Michael Jackson, Magic Show was good. The Ideal Couples was good for a few laughs. We found the performers very enthusiastic and typical of many resorts. Would rate the entertainment as average.
The beach was very nice. I really like that it is so wide..allowing you to get away from the crowd (if you wished) and sun yourself among the many palmtrees. Or quietly read a good book (I read 3...and it was heavenly to have the time to relax that much...loved it) Many lounge chairs...never had to play the 'towel game'. Much more topless than I've seen at other places, but it all depends on the clientelle...didn't bother us any. To each his own.
The staff at the Riu is one of its strong points...very well-trained, courteous and we felt that they were genuinely concerned about us "enjoying our stay". A big 'thumbs up" to them all.
We were impressed with the overall cleanliness and attention to little details in the restaurants. I had no worries whatsoever about getting a 'tummy bug' at this resort. We tried many different foods (and plenty of them) with never a 'twinge' of trouble.
Never did any tours this time...so can't comment on that aspect.
Didn't do any shopping either, except for a t-shirt, some spices & perfume. Caribbean Street seems overpriced and we bought from the Mambo giftshop...but watch the monitor at the cash when your change rings up...just keep an eye opened... I was short-changed but caught it and the clerk apologized.
So...I would recommend the Riu Mambo (with a warning about the beds) I really liked the resort, however, we will try another place next trip. If they get new beds...someone please post it! Then I would return.

 
beachbaby

Registered: August 2007
Posts: 46
Review Date: Mon January 14, 2008 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: $1,200.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: excellent service, loved the lay-out of the complex, very good food
Cons: very hard uncomfortable beds (only complaint we had)

We had a wonderful vacation at the "Riu Mambo" from 22 Dec/07 to 05 Jan/08.
I was a bit worried when we were the only two guests to be dropped off at this resort from everyone on our plane...I thought to myself "Uh oh, did I pick the wrong place?" Check-in was friendly and fast.
We were pleased with the room. Upper floor in bldg. 18 - just about middle of the grounds. Rooms may be a bit on the small side but everything worked just fine (yes, the air conditioner too) Very clean, lots of drawer space & hangers. Loved the "free" safe. I think all AI resorts should offer this feature.
Now...to our only complaint...the beds...IMO they are the worse beds we have encountered in over 10 trips south. I'm not kidding...very hard mattress and some kind of rubber sheeting. We came across other guests with the same complaint. I cannot understand the previous reviewers' comment that they found the beds comfortable...unless they are beginning to replace some of the old ones? However, we did not let a 'bad bed' dictate the rest of our holiday...
The Riu has very beautiful grounds. The complex is full of birds, lizards, plants & flowers. We really enjoyed wandering around birdwatching. Lots of butterflies also. So it a great place for a 'nature-nut' like myself. I think most of my pics are of plants rather than people, lol.
Thought the food was above average...very good in fact. Lots of meat choices, one of the best salad bars we've seen. Only thing lacking in this area was the bread selection wasn't that varied and there really is no 'pasta station' with its own pasta cook. Just a few different pans of pasta with sauce you would spoon on yourself. No big deal. Even a picky eater would be hard pressed not to find a tasty meal the the Riu Mambo.
We loved strolling on the patiostone walkways. Uusually we lunched at the Bachata everyday...Wow! what a view of the mountains from the Bachata pool! Amazing.
We did not catch many of the shows in the evening. Saw a very good Michael Jackson, Magic Show was good. The Ideal Couples was good for a few laughs. We found the performers very enthusiastic and typical of many resorts. Would rate the entertainment as average.
The beach was very nice. I really like that it is so wide..allowing you to get away from the crowd (if you wished) and sun yourself among the many palmtrees. Or quietly read a good book (I read 3...and it was heavenly to have the time to relax that much...loved it) Many lounge chairs...never had to play the 'towel game'. Much more topless than I've seen at other places, but it all depends on the clientelle...didn't bother us any. To each his own.
The staff at the Riu is one of its strong points...very well-trained, courteous and we felt that they were genuinely concerned about us "enjoying our stay". A big 'thumbs up" to them all.
We were impressed with the overall cleanliness and attention to little details in the restaurants. I had no worries whatsoever about getting a 'tummy bug' at this resort. We tried many different foods (and plenty of them) with never a 'twinge' of trouble.
Never did any tours this time...so can't comment on that aspect.
Didn't do any shopping either, except for a t-shirt, some spices & perfume. Caribbean Street seems overpriced and we bought from the Mambo giftshop...but watch the monitor at the cash when your change rings up...just keep an eye opened... I was short-changed but caught it and the clerk apologized.
So...I would recommend the Riu Mambo (with a warning about the beds) I really liked the resort, however, we will try another place next trip. If they get new beds...someone please post it! Then I would return.

 
beachbaby

Registered: August 2007
Posts: 46
Review Date: Mon January 14, 2008 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: $1,200.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: excellent service, loved the lay-out of the complex, very good food
Cons: very hard uncomfortable beds (only complaint we had)

We had a wonderful vacation at the "Riu Mambo" from 22 Dec/07 to 05 Jan/08.
I was a bit worried when we were the only two guests to be dropped off at this resort from everyone on our plane...I thought to myself "Uh oh, did I pick the wrong place?" Check-in was friendly and fast.
We were pleased with the room. Upper floor in bldg. 18 - just about middle of the grounds. Rooms may be a bit on the small side but everything worked just fine (yes, the air conditioner too) Very clean, lots of drawer space & hangers. Loved the "free" safe. I think all AI resorts should offer this feature.
Now...to our only complaint...the beds...IMO they are the worse beds we have encountered in over 10 trips south. I'm not kidding...very hard mattress and some kind of rubber sheeting. We came across other guests with the same complaint. I cannot understand the previous reviewers' comment that they found the beds comfortable...unless they are beginning to replace some of the old ones? However, we did not let a 'bad bed' dictate the rest of our holiday...
The Riu has very beautiful grounds. The complex is full of birds, lizards, plants & flowers. We really enjoyed wandering around birdwatching. Lots of butterflies also. So it a great place for a 'nature-nut' like myself. I think most of my pics are of plants rather than people, lol.
Thought the food was above average...very good in fact. Lots of meat choices, one of the best salad bars we've seen. Only thing lacking in this area was the bread selection wasn't that varied and there really is no 'pasta station' with its own pasta cook. Just a few different pans of pasta with sauce you would spoon on yourself. No big deal. Even a picky eater would be hard pressed not to find a tasty meal the the Riu Mambo.
We loved strolling on the patiostone walkways. Uusually we lunched at the Bachata everyday...Wow! what a view of the mountains from the Bachata pool! Amazing.
We did not catch many of the shows in the evening. Saw a very good Michael Jackson, Magic Show was good. The Ideal Couples was good for a few laughs. We found the performers very enthusiastic and typical of many resorts. Would rate the entertainment as average.
The beach was very nice. I really like that it is so wide..allowing you to get away from the crowd (if you wished) and sun yourself among the many palmtrees. Or quietly read a good book (I read 3...and it was heavenly to have the time to relax that much...loved it) Many lounge chairs...never had to play the 'towel game'. Much more topless than I've seen at other places, but it all depends on the clientelle...didn't bother us any. To each his own.
The staff at the Riu is one of its strong points...very well-trained, courteous and we felt that they were genuinely concerned about us "enjoying our stay". A big 'thumbs up" to them all.
We were impressed with the overall cleanliness and attention to little details in the restaurants. I had no worries whatsoever about getting a 'tummy bug' at this resort. We tried many different foods (and plenty of them) with never a 'twinge' of trouble.
Never did any tours this time...so can't comment on that aspect.
Didn't do any shopping either, except for a t-shirt, some spices & perfume. Caribbean Street seems overpriced and we bought from the Mambo giftshop...but watch the monitor at the cash when your change rings up...just keep an eye opened... I was short-changed but caught it and the clerk apologized.
So...I would recommend the Riu Mambo (with a warning about the beds) I really liked the resort, however, we will try another place next trip. If they get new beds...someone please post it! Then I would return.

 
beachbaby

Registered: August 2007
Posts: 46
Review Date: Mon January 14, 2008 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: $1,200.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: excellent service, loved the lay-out of the complex, very good food
Cons: very hard uncomfortable beds (only complaint we had)

We had a wonderful vacation at the "Riu Mambo" from 22 Dec/07 to 05 Jan/08.
I was a bit worried when we were the only two guests to be dropped off at this resort from everyone on our plane...I thought to myself "Uh oh, did I pick the wrong place?" Check-in was friendly and fast.
We were pleased with the room. Upper floor in bldg. 18 - just about middle of the grounds. Rooms may be a bit on the small side but everything worked just fine (yes, the air conditioner too) Very clean, lots of drawer space & hangers. Loved the "free" safe. I think all AI resorts should offer this feature.
Now...to our only complaint...the beds...IMO they are the worse beds we have encountered in over 10 trips south. I'm not kidding...very hard mattress and some kind of rubber sheeting. We came across other guests with the same complaint. I cannot understand the previous reviewers' comment that they found the beds comfortable...unless they are beginning to replace some of the old ones? However, we did not let a 'bad bed' dictate the rest of our holiday...
The Riu has very beautiful grounds. The complex is full of birds, lizards, plants & flowers. We really enjoyed wandering around birdwatching. Lots of butterflies also. So it a great place for a 'nature-nut' like myself. I think most of my pics are of plants rather than people, lol.
Thought the food was above average...very good in fact. Lots of meat choices, one of the best salad bars we've seen. Only thing lacking in this area was the bread selection wasn't that varied and there really is no 'pasta station' with its own pasta cook. Just a few different pans of pasta with sauce you would spoon on yourself. No big deal. Even a picky eater would be hard pressed not to find a tasty meal the the Riu Mambo.
We loved strolling on the patiostone walkways. Uusually we lunched at the Bachata everyday...Wow! what a view of the mountains from the Bachata pool! Amazing.
We did not catch many of the shows in the evening. Saw a very good Michael Jackson, Magic Show was good. The Ideal Couples was good for a few laughs. We found the performers very enthusiastic and typical of many resorts. Would rate the entertainment as average.
The beach was very nice. I really like that it is so wide..allowing you to get away from the crowd (if you wished) and sun yourself among the many palmtrees. Or quietly read a good book (I read 3...and it was heavenly to have the time to relax that much...loved it) Many lounge chairs...never had to play the 'towel game'. Much more topless than I've seen at other places, but it all depends on the clientelle...didn't bother us any. To each his own.
The staff at the Riu is one of its strong points...very well-trained, courteous and we felt that they were genuinely concerned about us "enjoying our stay". A big 'thumbs up" to them all.
We were impressed with the overall cleanliness and attention to little details in the restaurants. I had no worries whatsoever about getting a 'tummy bug' at this resort. We tried many different foods (and plenty of them) with never a 'twinge' of trouble.
Never did any tours this time...so can't comment on that aspect.
Didn't do any shopping either, except for a t-shirt, some spices & perfume. Caribbean Street seems overpriced and we bought from the Mambo giftshop...but watch the monitor at the cash when your change rings up...just keep an eye opened... I was short-changed but caught it and the clerk apologized.
So...I would recommend the Riu Mambo (with a warning about the beds) I really liked the resort, however, we will try another place next trip. If they get new beds...someone please post it! Then I would return.

 
danb713

Registered: February 2008
Posts: 1
Review Date: Wed February 6, 2008 Would you recommend this Riu Resort? Yes | Price paid per week?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Food, grounds, service.
Cons: beds are uncomfortable, but that's it!

Just returned from Riu Mambo. Everything was fantastic! Does anyone know from where I can download the "I want to go to Riu" song??

 
Page:  1 · 2 More Items


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2003 All Enthusiast, Inc.

New Page 1




Locations of visitors to this page

Riu Quoting System
FULL SCREEN BOOKING

(CLICK HERE)

Our New Affiliate Bookings


<